We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hukilau Lanai

Hukilau Lanai
Reserve with OpenTable
Hukilau Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant was close to where we were staying. The location was beautiful. I appreciated that salads were included with the dinner entree. The passion fruit dressing was so refreshing. The salad was crisp and fresh. My husband and I had the daily catch that included 2 types of fish and a skewer of shrimp. My daughter had the monchong. All of the fish dishes were overall very flavorful, but just a bit over done. My mom had the pork tenderloin that was fabulous.
The deserts were ok. We shared the profiteroles that were filled with homemade ice cream. The chocolate lava cake was ok. Not quite sweet enough. The service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,742
    441
    139
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“TA readers nailed this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just read the reviews- little more I can add other than to pile on: we had a very, very good meal! My wife and I along with our three 18+ youngsters each ordered a different entree and all 5 of us were extremely satisfied with our meals. Having had my fill of seafood I ordered the Prime Rib and it was excellent. They have nightly entertainment as well that added to an already great ambiance. I paid similar price for a meal at other establishments on the island and didn't remotely get the quality of food served by the Hukilau Lanai... TIP: do call in ahead of time or use OpenTable as they accept reservations and sit "outside" where it is cooler with a nice breeze. I think the TA readers nailed this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NY3BStra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and delicious seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We tried the restaurant after our Wyndom concierge recommended it. The jazz flute and guitar music was a lovely addition to a delightful dinner. The calamari was lightly bread and seasoned and cooked to tender perfection. The gazpacho with a dollop of homemade pineapple sherbet was refreshing; the fish bisque elegant, smooth, and creamy. The fish was tasty and perfectly cooked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining in Kapaa, Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Hukilau Lanai is on the property of the Kauai Resort at the Beachboy which is where we were staying. We each bought a different entree and all 5 of us were very satisfied with our meals. The specialty drinks were very good as well. The atmosphere was what you would expect in Hawaii and it is well worth your time to visit this restaurant during your stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Special Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is our 3rd year celebrating our aniversary at this resturant. The dinners were excellent. In addition they comped us there aweome dessert. Truly good food. Mixed drinks a little weak- heavy on mix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slimjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hukilau Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Hukilau Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing