We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a value price”
Review of Harley's Tropical Barbeque - CLOSED

Harley's Tropical Barbeque
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food at a value price”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not fancy- basically a take-out window with outdoor seating. But they have great ribs, teri chicken or beef. The prices are really good and the staff is always friendly and nice. Beware of begging chickens!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    50
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Name Says It All”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to Kauai around half a dozen times and it is one of the places we always visit. It is nothing fancy, but the food is good and the price is just as good. They usually have daily fish specials and we have never been disappointed, always fresh! We always go for the BBQ plates, two scoops of rice, papaya seed dressing garden salad, and your choice of BBQ. I would recommend the chicken and beef ribs. I would crawl on my hands and knees in the snow ... if there was any snow ... for an order of the beef ribs.
Before we had to go to LIH, our flight was at 22:05, so we ordered a couple of dinner plates, for the kids, to go ... I figured that I would pick something up at the airport ... big mistake ... next time order something from Harley's before you check in. Just a word of warning, make sure you have 10 to 15 minutes to wait because, they cook everything fresh ... which is a good thing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Sidewalk Fare”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Being on the go from early morning to late at night, I found eating to be more a necessity than an event. However, I also want to sample local offerings, and I disdain eating at chain restaurants.

While walking around the Coconut Marketplace, and passing a number of unappealing eateries, I spied Harley's. I don't know why it stood out - it's essentially a shack with two windowed sides and several picnic tables out front. I walked up and looked at the menu.

Wow, this is not your run-of-the-mill BBQ joint, I thought. I finally chose the sliced teriyaki beef plate, with a side of (two scoops) rice. In short order, my name was called and I picked up my plate, drink, utensils and straw, and sat at one of the tables. The paper plate was so full I was afraid it might collapse under the load. Fortunately, it did not.

The food was excellent! This was exactly the kind of place I was looking for: fast, casual, tasty and local. On my next trip to Kaua`i I will put stopping at Harley's on my to-do list, for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fpuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

First visit I had a mahi wrap which was fresh and had lots of fresh veggies inside too, like a tasty piece of art! Next visit had teri beef plate, great sauce, not too sweet, and also shrimp spring rolls. Huge portions, excellent food, great location in coconut market place, the outside looks a little ratty, but don't be fooled. awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful food and value!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Outdoor food hut located in the coconut market. The food was well priced and very good! We loved the BBQ beef and pork ribs! You can either eat there it take it to go. Super convenient if you are staying at the Aston islander on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritzyvanfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harley's Tropical Barbeque also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing