We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the week in Kauai”
Review of The Eastside cafe - CLOSED

The Eastside cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Eastside , located in the heart of downtown Kapaa HI offers a unique Pacific Rim dinner menu featuring an exquisite selection of seafood entrees as well as steak, pork and chicken. Lunch/Dinner prices range from $10 to $40 per entrée and offers a full bar and nightly music.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of the week in Kauai”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and were looking for a different place to try for our final night on Kauai this week and we decided to try The Eastside based on reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. It was the best dining experience we had all week. We were greeted by the friendly host and told that the only table currently available was next to the speaker of the live performer, but that something should open up shortly. We decided to get a drink at the bar and there was one open seat but a local guy gave up his for us to sit together saying "you're our guests here, be comfortable". A table opened up in about 5 minutes as promised. The Eastside is a small place on the main street in Kapaa. It did a great job of giving us a fine dining experience in a casual setting. The service was excellent and the food even more so. We started with an Ahi Ceviche and then my wife had the macadamia nut encrusted mahi and I had the catch of the day special which was Ahi served with a skewer of prawns. All 3 dishes were outstanding. The only thing we were disappointed about was that we didn't discover The Eastside earlier in the trip. Oh well, one more reason to come back to Kauai.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    115
    43
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 10 days visiting Maui & Kauai. Our 2 dinners at this restaurant were the best meals we had. The food is fresh, including the fruit martinis. We loved the fish entrees, and also the great papaya bread pudding. Their food is delivered and plated very attractively, and when you leave the restaurant you are already trying to figure out how to fit it in again before your vacation is over. Wished I lived in Kauai so I could enjoy this restaurant on a regular basis!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank upt0wnN0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“fresh ingredients, great presentation, many flavours in one course, live music”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Even it had good reviews i was not expecting such a meal. We order the macadamia mahi mahi and every single bite was superb. They use fresh fish, flavours from local fruits and sprouts. Perfect amount and beautiful presentation. Most expensive mail courses around 23$. Calamaries and spring rolls for starters bouth very tasty although i would prefer more calamaries and less rice for starter. The sauce with it was again a mix of delicious flavours, fruity and light. We discover a raw diamond the local singer Madison, 14 year old singer, songwriter and musician perfect companion for our dinner. Our toddler enjoy the meal too! Good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peps2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We 'ended up here' because we were in this part of town. Read TA and thought we should give it a try. Everything was fabulous! The service was attentive, the food was creative and well prepared. My DH had the catch of the day, which was Mahi Mahi, grilled with parmesean mashed potatoes. Very well flavored and nice presentation. I had beef short ribs. in a coffee/chocolate type sauce. They were fork tender and wonderful flavor. It wouldn't surprise me if we don't go there again before we leave Kapaa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysPlanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a restuarant.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the outside this place looks like a modest establishment. However the food and service is worthy of the best restaurants with more grand facades on the island.
We had a wonderful dining experience and it is well worth the 5 star review.
I watched a lot of dishes leave the kitchen and they all looked spectacular. If we had been in Kapaa longer we would have gone back here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eastside cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing