We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Island Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pacific Island Bistro
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Bay Area, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found the place by accident while waiting for a prescription at the pharmacy. My Chinese wife (very picky) was absolutely delighted with the Chinese-style steamed sea bass and the string bean side dish, which is not on the menu but was enthusiastically recommended by the manager. My teriyaki pepper steak was a bit chewy but a perfect medium rare and very flavorful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank goalkick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    7
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have lived here for 7 years and never tried this place before... what were we thinking! This place is a sleeper. I've read the other reviews and I don't what some of these peoples expectation are. We have eaten in almost every place on the island, and this place is hands down the best. The service was outstanding and the food to die for. The place may not look new and fancy, but what are you there for the food or the flash? We WILL be returning often!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmatero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem,WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Eat Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The pictures in the Dining guide are deceiving.We should have known better when no one was in the restaurant when we arrived.The service was bad, the food was worse. The menus were plastic coated and dirty. If we weren't so hungary we would have left.Tried to give them the benefit of doubt.Very dissappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DesignWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Garbage !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A food corner, mall like chinese food place. I had a sea food plate. It is a shame to serve seafood like that on a small Island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pescatore_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My son picked this place and it turned out to the worst meal we had in the two weeks in Hawaii. The food was bland and undercooked, Hassled our 21 year old son over his ID even though:
1. He is 21 and had his Photo Drivers license to prove it
2. Was with his parents.
3. Its a BYOB.
This made us feel very unwelcomed. We should have got up and bolted right then.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Island Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing