We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service & quality”

Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals
Ranked #10 of 50 Outdoor Activities in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals in N. Kapa'a offers a full selection of TREK brand classic cruisers, 3 speed cruiseliners, Tandems for two and trailer bikes for kids. Helmets and bike locks are included in rental prices and the renters can ride out on their own around town or on the new east side path. The ride on the newly opened bike path offers breathtaking views, starting in south Kapa'a and winding north past downtown up to Kealia Beach. Covered picnic areas, bike racks, and comfort stations are located at reasonable intervals along the way. Visit restaurants, shops and many amazing beaches on this self guided ride on the Coconut Coast. Picnic lunches are available upon request by calling 808-822-7368.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service & quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Coconut Beach Bike Rentals made renting bikes in Kapaa for the ride along the oceanside trail so easy. The very professional staff helped with bike selection (how many gears suited us, etc) and helmets (optional in Hawaii) & made sure that simple safety tips were well understood. The trail to Donkey Beach is beautiful alongside the ocean and was simply an exhilarating experience! The bikes are well maintained and ride perfectly. Thanks for a great outing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    24
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We went yesterday and This is the place to rent bikes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

First, its easy to find in kapaa on the beach side. They are right next to the bike path. Staff very fruendly and knowledgable. You can pick your bike w speeds or without. Helmets, locks and basket were included. We paid about $40 for 2 3-speed bikes for about 2 1/2 hrs. You get what you pay for so go to this place not the 2/$20 places. You can ride south about 1 1/2 miles oe north 3 1/2 miles on the bike trail which was just great for us. Bike path is pretty flat w great vistas along the beach. Def one of the highlights of our trip!!!!!!! Bring lunch and grab one of the many picnic tables along the way. Or Hit scottys bbq a few buildings south from the bike lot when u r done and hungry! Have fun! Weeheeee!!

Helpful?
1 Thank DrJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A really fun time, if you have at least half a day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my second time doing a Scooter tour on Kauai. This was my first time with Coconut Coasters. They were very diligent in finding 7 scooters for our needs and for that, we thank them very much. We were able to travel all around the east shore checking out different hiking areas and waterfalls. It was such a fun experience and I would definitely recommend it if you can handle driving next to big cars on the road. It takes a few minutes getting over the fear, but you'll eventually warm up to it. They do provide helmets and bike locks all for a small fee of about $50 for the day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank pheenixdark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I probably wouldn't have thought to rent bikes if I didn't see that there was a bike path along Kealia Beach, but I'm so glad I did. My husband and I really enjoyed the views along the path. It was nice to see them from the bikes rather than the car and it was nice to get a little exercise too. The path is not strenuous at all. The people at Coconut Coasters were very nice. It was very easy to get to and a nice change of pace.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A beautiful and easy ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was an inexpensive and great way to get out and see the coast. Three of us rented three-speed cruisers. They're nothing fancy, but they did the trick. And the seats were very cushy - which makes a difference! My teenage son, of course, had to have the mountain bike. Took them out for just over two hours and had a blast.

It's a really easy ride because it's virtually all flat. The bike path has a lot of great spots to stop and take in the beautiful scenery and walk about the beach. So we really enjoyed it.

Renting the bikes was easy, the people at the store very nice and accommodating -- no complaints.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Coasters Beach Bike Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing