We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved this hotel! Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Kapaa Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We decided to stay at Kapaa Sands for our anniversary based on the reviews and were not the least bit disappointed. It was just perfect for our needs and is just the kind of accomodation we like--none of the multi-story high-rise ultra-big contraptions--here you're find a small number of units literally right on the beach. They're roomy, very well decorated, comfortable and you can hear and feel the ocean up close. Unbeatable prices and a friendly staff are like icing and the location was great too. About a 10 minute drive from the airport but close to a great little shopping center right up the road. We would absolutely stay here over and over.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank khaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Kapaa Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2007

spent 10 days on kauai staying at kapaa sands. It was our first time to kauai so we tried to get a central location. This condo was great (unit #13)(upstairs). great view from the porch of the ocean and small beach. Unit was very clean and bug free. Unit is quite small but adequate. There is a hideaway bed that was surprisingly comfortable. There is no air conditioning but you don't need it. Used the gas grills at the pool to cook up some fish. This is a good location to go either north to princeville or west to waimea canyon.
If we return to kauai we would definitely try to book the same condo.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inahurryDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

My wife and I spent five wonderful nights at Kappa Sands in April. After research scores of accomdations online, we chose Kapaa Sands based on good reviews and a very affordable ocean front condo. (pick the oceanfront units if you can) We were not disappointed! Just steps to an almost private beach with spectacular views. Swimming is a bit difficult on the beach, but lots of 3-foot deep pools protected by a close-in reef that are filled with fish. Kitchen and bathroom are small, but clean and well stocked. Small pool on site is surrounded by lush and well-maintained vegetation. Pool deck has two gas BBQs that everyone seems to use in the evening. It's an easy walk along the beach-front side of neighborhing condos to Coconut Plantation Market. Easy access to Lydgate Park (excellent storkling) and the Wailu River (great kayaking).

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank Seafoam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

My family stayed at the Kapaa Sands in Kauai from December 16th-23rd, 2006. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units which was right on the ocean. I have to say that, for the money, it was one of the best places that we have ever stayed in. Very clean and well kept. It was exactly as advertised...right on the water. My wife and I could listen to the sounds of the surf every night as we fell asleep.
Although smaller than a lot of other condos, there was ample room for 2 adults and 2 children. The unit had all the amenities except washer and dryer in the unit. The kitchen was a little small but serviceable. Very centrally located in Kapaa and easy to get to the North shore and Princeville as well as Poipu Beach in the South.
We were a little concerned because previous reviews complained of terrible traffic problems. Traffic could be slow in the early morning or during evening rush hour, but I guess it is all relative. Coming from the Twin Cities, I could hardly call this traffic!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. I would highly recommend one of the ocean front, 2 bedroom units.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dianeandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

After reading several reviews on Trip Advisor we booked 9 nights at the Kapa'a Sands - unit #11 in little Kapa'a Town. The location is great - 10 minutes from the airport and off of the main road. Our oceanfront room was literally 100 yds from the ocean. With the windows and doors open at night the sound of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep nightly. Property is in great shape, landscaped well. The pool is brand new, the grill out in that area was a top of the line Vermont Castings (reminded us of home - we are from MA). Kitchen was well equipped. We left in the AM - came back before happy hour (4PM) and the room was always made up. The bathroom was small - similar to a suite bathroom on a cruise liner. Only complaint was leaving.

Recomend a second floor ocean view for anyone staying. Can keep the doors and windows open at night risk free (not that there is crime in that area). Grocery stores about a mile down the road as well as restaaunts. Happy Hour at the Trade Winds in Coconut Plaza (1/4 mile walk) rocked - $2.50 beers. They open at kickoff (7 or 8AM) on Sundays for any football fans out there. PoiPu Beach is the best for sun and snorkelling - we tried them all trust me. Drive to Ke'e beach and walk the first 1/2 mile of the Na Pali train - not a bad trail. The 2 mile hike to the beach is more challenging and muddy - be preapred to lose a pair of cloths from the red dirt. Highlight was the helicoptor ride - most money I had eveer spent for one hour of fun but worth every penny. We used Island Helicoptors (internet rate $150 pp) but I think all the carriers are about the same. Did the Holo Holo sunset cruise up Na Pali but the ocean is rough in November. Half the boat tossed bait before we turned around prematurely. Finally, go to bed early - sleep late and enjoy paradise!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

We also stayed in unit #14 and we just loved it.
Clean and comfortable, fabulous view, and great location,
central to eveything. I will miss the sound of the surf, and didn't mind hearing it day and night during our stay! The room was bright and breezy, and we enjoyed coffee on the lanai every morning. And what a bargain for an oceanfront unit! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I have absolutely no complaints
about the Kapaa Sands, only high marks!..We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stracci2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Stayed 7 nights in #11 (upper beachfront) Kapa'a Sands May 2006, first time in Kauai. Condo is clean and comfy. Yes, very small bathroom, but still quite adequate. Bug spray in cupboard but never saw a single bug. Did see some geckos around the property. Very nice pool and pool area with gas BBQ, adequate laundry room, friendly staff. Saw turtles (by the dozens) feeding offshore numerous times. No great sunrises or sunsets during our stay there, unfortunately, but those turtles made up for it! Kapa'a is a great central location on Kauai, and we would stay at Kapa'a Sands again, best price for the dollar of any beachfront condo we could find.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank big50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.0 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Address: 380 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1440
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $90 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's centrally located, intimate, 24-unit boutique beachfront resort. Rentals at Kapaa Sands include both studios and two-bedroom oceanfront and ocean view condominiums, all with full kitchens, allowing you to keep your vacation meal costs down by eating as many meals as you wish at the best table on Kauai, your view lanai (deck). Every condo is an end unit, meaning 3 exterior walls with windows, tropical breezes, and light. Sleep to to the sound of the surf and wake to the sunrise. Conveniently located across the street from Kinipopo Shopping Village with restaurants & specialty stores. Two supermarkets are within a mile from your door. Take advantage of nearby hiking trails (walk to Sleeping Giant), scenic waterfalls, and Wailua River kayaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing