We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kappa Sands unit 16”
Review of Kapaa Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kappa Sands unit 16”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family and I stay in unit 16 in June 2014, its a two story two bedroom condo. with a sofa sleeper down stairs. Great value for a family of 5, price was right at $199. a night, great view, great location on the island. had a great time.

Room Tip: for family of Five rent unit 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sabby1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    38
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
79
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was the perfect style of accommodation for us. Great location.
Recommend booking a beach facing unit as the ocean is right at your door step and it is so pleasant to sit on the lanai with a morning coffee or a beverage in the evening.

We stayed in Unit #10 and once we figued out that the bed folded down from the wall (not a fault just us!) we were sorted. Unit well set up with eveything we needed.

Handy to grocery store and local market.

I hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: Pay attention to Office Hours that are listed on your confirmation so that keys can be arranged afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in 4 rooms at the Kapaa Sands and had an amazing time. The beach was perfect for strolling, snorkeling, and strong swimmers. My husband and I swam every morning while my parents looked for shells and my siblings snorkeled. We had family breakfasts and enjoyed our rooms immensely.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Five of us stayed here in February and we loved it. The condos were well furnished and comfortable, and the location right on the coast was great. It was easy to walk to nearby bakeries and restaurants. The center of town and large grocery stores are only a few minutes' drive. The only negative was that there were absolutely no basic items in the kitchen, such as salt and pepper, which certainly doesn't attract insects.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montana013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Unit 16 - oceanfront .. With magnificent views . There is a beach down the stairs . Very calm I the morning with lots of fishes. This is the only beach my 3 yr old entered fearlessly. Home was well furnished , kitchen well setup for a long stay. A true home away from home in PARADISE. Cleaning staff leaves the room spic and span!


Gets a four star cause laundry facility is literally a joke .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I recently stayed in Unit 14 - oceanfront studio - and they weren't kidding. Ocean was 30 steps from my front door. Went to sleep listening to the waves and the ocean breezes gently blowing in the window. Staff is great - grounds are lush and tropical. It is a quiet little place and was talking to some of the other guests who come back year after year. I hope to as well. Place was really clean and cute. Great internet connection and cable for when you wanted to reconnect with the world. Had a great week there!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in an oceanfront room. Only a little more but totally worth it I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler60321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We are here at the lovely Kapaa Sands. I can't think of anything bad to say about this gem. We are in an ocean front second floor studio that looks like it has had an update recently.

The view from the Lanai is unbelievable! The location is perfect - walking distance to grocery stores and restaurants and right in the middle of the island.

The surf is LOUD and so amazing to fall asleep to. I may just claim imminent domain at say here forever :o)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
1.0 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Property: Kapaa Sands
Address: 380 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1440
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's centrally located, intimate, 24-unit boutique beachfront resort. Rentals at Kapaa Sands include both studios and two-bedroom oceanfront and ocean view condominiums, all with full kitchens, allowing you to keep your vacation meal costs down by eating as many meals as you wish at the best table on Kauai, your view lanai (deck). Every condo is an end unit, meaning 3 exterior walls with windows, tropical breezes, and light. Sleep to to the sound of the surf and wake to the sunrise. Conveniently located across the street from Kinipopo Shopping Village with restaurants & specialty stores. Two supermarkets are within a mile from your door. Take advantage of nearby hiking trails (walk to Sleeping Giant), scenic waterfalls, and Wailua River kayaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing