We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront or Garden View is amazing. The grounds are little a mini botanical garden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapaa Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oceanfront or Garden View is amazing. The grounds are little a mini botanical garden.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed in 4 rooms at the Kapaa Sands and had an amazing time. The beach was perfect for strolling, snorkeling, and strong swimmers. My husband and I swam every morning while my parents looked for shells and my siblings snorkeled. We had family breakfasts and enjoyed our rooms immensely.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
77
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Five of us stayed here in February and we loved it. The condos were well furnished and comfortable, and the location right on the coast was great. It was easy to walk to nearby bakeries and restaurants. The center of town and large grocery stores are only a few minutes' drive. The only negative was that there were absolutely no basic items in the kitchen, such as salt and pepper, which certainly doesn't attract insects.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montana013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Unit 16 - oceanfront .. With magnificent views . There is a beach down the stairs . Very calm I the morning with lots of fishes. This is the only beach my 3 yr old entered fearlessly. Home was well furnished , kitchen well setup for a long stay. A true home away from home in PARADISE. Cleaning staff leaves the room spic and span!


Gets a four star cause laundry facility is literally a joke .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I recently stayed in Unit 14 - oceanfront studio - and they weren't kidding. Ocean was 30 steps from my front door. Went to sleep listening to the waves and the ocean breezes gently blowing in the window. Staff is great - grounds are lush and tropical. It is a quiet little place and was talking to some of the other guests who come back year after year. I hope to as well. Place was really clean and cute. Great internet connection and cable for when you wanted to reconnect with the world. Had a great week there!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in an oceanfront room. Only a little more but totally worth it I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler60321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We are here at the lovely Kapaa Sands. I can't think of anything bad to say about this gem. We are in an ocean front second floor studio that looks like it has had an update recently.

The view from the Lanai is unbelievable! The location is perfect - walking distance to grocery stores and restaurants and right in the middle of the island.

The surf is LOUD and so amazing to fall asleep to. I may just claim imminent domain at say here forever :o)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in a room that had just been remodeled (in fact, they had been working on it the morning until we got there!). There were a few minor problems but nothing that bothered us. But we really enjoyed our stay here for a number of reasons:

The location is great. As close to the ocean as you would ever want to be (assuming you stay in the front row of condos). Glorious sunrise almost every morning. Right across the street are a number of really good restaurants (the excellent and cheap Korean BBQ, Kintaro steak house, good Mexican, and a bakery with good gluten-free items).

The "beach" in front of it actually has some cool features -- a pair of small spouting horns, a protected pool for kids, tidepools, snorkeling, interesting artwork carved in the driftwood logs.

Other things are nearby -- Lydgate park is within walking distance across the river. Downtown Kapa'a is just a mile or so away. Waterfalls are nearby.

The people who stay there are really nice. Most come every year. As soon as we arrived the next-door neighbors knocked on our door and introduced themselves. Another invited us along with a group of them to dinner. We ended up hanging out with many of them. Good, friendly people!

A few minor nits. The bed could have been more comfortable. The laundry room hours are a bit of a joke (every other day, but only for a few hours in mid day?). We didn't interact much with the property managers as our condo (#5) was managed by the owner, who was very helpful and fixed most of the minor problems we discovered.

Room Tip: You want to be on the front row. We were on the top (second) floor, but the first floor looked good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are currently staying at kapaa sands in unit 16 which is a two story unit ocean front.We are the first to stay here since it was converted back to a rental unit and man, are we feeling lucky. The grounds are perfect as is the cute beach and tide pool just off our lanai. The unit is very well attended...we can't think of a thing extra that we would need. We are loving sleeping with the sounds of the ocean. The staff are courteous and helpful. There is almost too much room for just the two of us in this unit but it would be perfect for a family as both bedrooms are big and comfortable. There is only one shower but two bathrooms...the one on the main floor being just a sink and toilet. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need...the coconut market is within walking distance and we visited the farmers market there and stocked up on some wonderful local produce. There are plenty of other shops within walking distance. This is a true paradise including whale watching off the lanai and is nice and central to everything on the island.There is no fitness centre but the pool is lovely.

Room Tip: Please choose ocean front if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
1.0 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Property: Kapaa Sands
Address: 380 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1440
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's centrally located, intimate, 24-unit boutique beachfront resort. Rentals at Kapaa Sands include both studios and two-bedroom oceanfront and ocean view condominiums, all with full kitchens, allowing you to keep your vacation meal costs down by eating as many meals as you wish at the best table on Kauai, your view lanai (deck). Every condo is an end unit, meaning 3 exterior walls with windows, tropical breezes, and light. Sleep to to the sound of the surf and wake to the sunrise. Conveniently located across the street from Kinipopo Shopping Village with restaurants & specialty stores. Two supermarkets are within a mile from your door. Take advantage of nearby hiking trails (walk to Sleeping Giant), scenic waterfalls, and Wailua River kayaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing