We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem!”
Review of Kapaa Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our week at this hotel. We had a second story studio with an ocean view that was stunning! Not fancy, but the studio was clean and well appointed, including snorkel gear, fins, surf shoes, and beach towels. The grounds were lovely. And, the hotel was well located to get to the north and south side of the island easily. We met lots of nice people who told us that they come back year after year. I can understand why.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 146 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kapaa Sands Resort as it was a great location from which to travel around the island. The grounds were very well maintained and the staff here were the greatest. Amy #1 was a trooper who's help, when we ran into a problem with logistics, was invaluable. The view from our balcony was truely beautiful and the gentle sounds of the sea rolling in all night long was truely heavenly. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the balcony as we watched the sea roll onto the shore. Any of the center buildings, and upper floors, have very good views and our number 9 room was exceptional. I only wish I could have traken the guitar shaped dresser hme with us. Don't miss out on a great experience, book a stay at this lost gem.

Room Tip: Second floor center buildings have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BootlegBob1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved our stay at Kapaa Sands and will always stay here on our return visits. The staff was very friendly, the condo we stayed in was spotless and comfortable, there was even an arrangement of fresh orchids left on our table our first night. Other than the very reasonable price, I think the two best things about Kapaa Sands were the peaceful, beautiful beach cove it is located on, great for paddling, and the sense of quiet and privacy. This is not a bustling, busy place, but a great place to relax. We felt like we were in a cottage, it was so quiet. The only thing that kept me from giving five stars is that our fold-down bed in unit 4 had a tired-out mattress that needs replacing. The kitchen, equipment, bathroom, other furniture, and landscaping were top notch and very attractive. Housekeeping services were excellent. Sleeping only fifty feet from the beach was luxurious, too.Thanks for a memorable stay, Kapaa Sands saff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mappandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our family found the Kapaa Sands website and thought - for the price they were charging - that the place looked too good to be true... We booked a 2 bedroom condo anyways hoping the images and descriptions on the website weren't deceptive.

We couldn't believe it when we arrived that the condo and the grounds and the beach in front of the property were every bit as well kept and beautiful as the images. The staff here - from the front desk, to the housekeeping and grounds are very friendly and helpful - we can't wait to go back to Kauai and we will stay at Kapaa Sands again!!

Room Tip: For an extra $50 or so bucks Its worth the extra money to upgrade to an ocean front unit. Easy walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I loved our stay here. You are so close to the beach, in a little cove where you can hang out in the water safely in any season. Saw awesome sunrises and lots of humpback whales from our lanai, walked next door to the Coconut Marketplace to get plate lunches at Harleys & ice cream at Lapperts, and on Tuesdays & Thursdays could pick up papayas at the Farmers Market in their parking lot. The units are small but nicely laid out and the whole place has a very comfortable old-school Hawaiiana vibe to it.
The only unpleasant part of the whole trip was the surly clerk at the Hertz counter!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyCamperSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I am not going to reveal which oceanfront unit we just stayed in a few days ago, but was a ground floor, even number unit. The reason I am not going to say which unit we stayed in, is because we don't want too many people to know about this incredible place to stay on Kauai. Our unit was even better than expected and we concur with all the positive remarks about Kapaa Sands resort. Kapaa is centrally located in Kauai and many fine places to dine or shop is just walking distance away. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee, shave ice, gift shops all very close by or just minutes away on foot or by car. Our unit was fully stocked with kitchenware and the maid service every other day was prompt, very thorough and efficient, they do a great job! The garden and botanical area was very well kept and impressive to say the least. The sound and sights of the nearby ocean was incredible! I never slept so well in all my life, from the first night to the last! "The ocean too noisy?" No way, not for us, we LOVED the sound of the surf all day and night! Oh so much to say, but will make this review short. Kapaa Sands, we will be back for sure, it holds a special place in our heart like no other in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Don't stay here it's only for me and my wife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We really loved Kapa'a Sands! The unit was clean, smallish but plenty of room for us. We really loved the patio, and having our own little stretch of beach was great too. We even had a monk seal conk out directly in front of us! They blocked off the beach so people wouldn't mess with him, but we had a great view.

In addition to being a great unit (calm, relaxing, clean, etc.) we really liked the location. It was a quick walk to plenty of restaurants (Korean, Japanese, pizza, etc.) and even a bar with live music (Trees Lounge).

We didn't actually get the particular unit we had reserved (I think we had reserved 9 and got 14 instead due to renovations), but it worked out well anyway.

Room Tip: We were in #14, and it was great. Definitely spring for a oceanfront unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrfishe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.0 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Address: 380 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1440
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $90 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's centrally located, intimate, 24-unit boutique beachfront resort. Rentals at Kapaa Sands include both studios and two-bedroom oceanfront and ocean view condominiums, all with full kitchens, allowing you to keep your vacation meal costs down by eating as many meals as you wish at the best table on Kauai, your view lanai (deck). Every condo is an end unit, meaning 3 exterior walls with windows, tropical breezes, and light. Sleep to to the sound of the surf and wake to the sunrise. Conveniently located across the street from Kinipopo Shopping Village with restaurants & specialty stores. Two supermarkets are within a mile from your door. Take advantage of nearby hiking trails (walk to Sleeping Giant), scenic waterfalls, and Wailua River kayaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing