We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely Place in Kapaa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Place in Kapaa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just took a little jaunt over to the Garden Isle. We stayed at the Kauai Coast at the Beachboy Resort. From the front desk agent who was very friendly and welcoming to the gentleman trimming the shrubbery on the grounds...everyone was so NICE. The aloha spirit is alive and well there. We had a room on the third floor and they don't have elevators but the steps are gradual and easy to manage even for someone with a bum hip like me. The room was lovely. There was a four poster bed that was very comfortable. Great amenities in the little kitchen nook area and a lanai where it was nice to just sit and read my book. We didn't use the pool but the area was nice and just below our lanai there was a firepit area with comfortable seating. I booked on Hotwire.com and got an incredible rate. I highly recommend this location for families, couples or business travelers. The location was convenient and minutes down the road from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    194
    53
    13
    14
See reviews for
166
332
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this resort from Trip Advisor reviews. it was a nice place, clean, comfortable, well maintained. The beach at the resort is very rocky and not really swimmable. There is a swimmable beach up the road in Kapaa, but you have to drive there. Full Kitchens are very nice and 2 supermarkets are minutes away. the restaurant in the resort is excellent but you need to make reservations as it is very popular with locals. We sat at the bar twice and had appetizers, and they were fantastic! But its only open for dinner and not everyday. Breakfast at Eggberts in the Coconut Mall is walking distance and is open for Breakfast and Lunch and is also a great deal!

Room Tip: Ground level lets you walk out sliding doors and almost like having your own backyard to sit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drnappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is well-run. The excellent restaurant has to be reserved a few days in advance, but only serves diner. For lunch and breakfast, you're on your own. There is a great sand beach well protected from the surf, and so, perfectly swimmable, just 2 miles away, called Lydgate Park. Foodland and Safeway are just a 3 minutes drive from the hotel. The central location makes it easy to visit the Canyon, Hanalei and the NaPali Coast, as well as Poipu. Free parking and good Wifi reception ( free ). Unfortunately, the wonderful rooms facing the ocean are reserved for the timesharing users. We particularly enjoyed the huge bathrooms with washer-dryer included.We recommend getting a one-bedroom apartment, even for only 2 people, the comfort level is appreciable. Upper floors enable you to avoid bugs, cats and chicken and the steps are very easy to walk up. Main disappointment is the pool ( tiny size ). There are quite a few very pleasant stores at walking distance in the MarketPlace ( literally one minute walk ), including a supermarket.

Room Tip: Get a one-bedroom apartment. As long as you are on the 2nd or third floor, it does not natter where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for four days in August, and enjoyed our stay there. It is close to the airport, and we were picked up by the hotel shuttle. The driver was very helpful and gave us a quick commentary about the island. The resort is set in beautiful, well tended, grounds with excellent pools and spas. The beach is not really for swimming, but OK for walking on. Our room was on the third floor and we had a sea view from our balcony. The room was adequate for what we wanted, with an OK bathroom. We had the breakfast included in our price, which we would recommend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the music each night in the bar. The only downfall was the evening meal at the restaurant. You had to book and keep coming back every ten minutes to check if your table was ready. We thought this could have been managed better. It is a little out of the way of things, so if you wish to see the rest of the island you will need to hire a car.

Room Tip: We were in the second from the end building, on the third floor, with a sea view from the balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynnis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this property numerous times and have yet to be disappointed. The grounds are immaculate, the area very quiet, and the rooms have always been extremely clean and well appointed. Can't wait to go back in December 2013!

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite sides of the building from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan99645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Typical of Hawaii, this place has endured a few hurricanes, and it has been put back together a couple of times. It's beginning to show its 25+ year age. You can only put so much lipstick on a pig. Not that it's not nice, it's just not new. Apartments and rooms are large, pool area so-so, location handy to grocery stores etc. a good place to have a family vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pros: beach is seconds away from your room. Great facilities. Nice pool, nice BBQ area. Great lanai's. large rooms. Great balcony. Good fitness room. Close to grocery stores.

Cons: small parking. You may end up parking next door or the street some nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FearlessNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Property: Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing