We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rohnert Park, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing times”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had not been to this property since the mid 1970's. Wow! What an update from regular hotel to resort property! We stayed in a 2 bedroom garden view unit (could also see the ocean from the balcony). The unit had a full kitchen and was tastefully furnished. A quick drive down the road to Safeway or Foodland and the pantry was stocked. There is also a small general store in the Coconut Market Place across the street if one is in need of a snack or souvenir. The resort is centrally located and a fairly short drive to attractions on either the north or south sides of the island. All in all a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: While there are very few ocean front rooms, most of the garden view rooms do have at least limited v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertA869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    210
    61
    17
    15
See reviews for
186
352
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

First of all, this property is part of the Shell Resorts Timeshare portfolio. I didn't realize that going into our reservation and as it turns out, it really made no difference in the end. I just point that out so you know. They do, of course, offer a timeshare presentation if you are interested. My wife and I attended a presentation (didn't buy anything) and received a generous $330.00 discount on a Ni'ihau/Napali Coast 7.5 hour snorkle tour we were going to do anyway so were were actually happy to have attended the presentation. Very low pressure and it was pretty interesting (had never been to one before). Cindy from the concierge desk was SO nice and very helpful. Be sure to say "Hi" to her from Mark and Tami. :)

Okay... on with the review... We stayed KCR for 13 nights. When I booked, I received their "green" promotion which provide daily garbage pickup and towel exchange. That was really about it for housekeeping. We simply made our own beds and picked up as needed. No big deal. In fact, it was kind of like this place was really our home for 2 weeks.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 3rd floor unit. If it matters to you, there are no guest elevators. That wasn;t an issue for us, but if stairs are a concern, just ask to be on the 1st floor. The unit is broken up into 3 main rooms. You walk into a kitchen/living room. My first impression was that it was bright and clean although slightly dated. I'd call it quaint and I liked it. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans, plates, cups, cooking utensils, etc. We took full advantage of the kitchen by going to one of the very near grocery stores and buying groceries. It was so nice to be able to grab a late night snack or cook a late meal after returniung from a day of surfing without having to go to a restuarant. Especially with 2 17 year olds and a 12 year old!

Everything woked well... the fridge, range and microwave. There was a very nice (and large) table for 6 in the eating area that we used nearly every day. The other part of the main room is a living room area with a queen sofa sleeper and a couple of chairs along with access to the lanai and a flat screen TV in a hutch with a blu-ray DVD player. There were a couple of nights the kids went to a Redbox and got movies and watched them. Very nice!

Next, there was a large master bedroom with a king bed. I'd call it a 7.5/10 on the comfort scale. Not my own bed, but not bad for a hotel bed either. Again, there was a TV/DVD in a hutch and that was very nice. There was a nice 2-sink bath room and a toile/shower are seperated by a pocket door. A really nice setup. There is a full wall slider (glass floor to ceiling) that opens up to the large lanai with a few chairs and small tables that turned out to be a great place for a morning cup of coffee (coffee maker in the kitchen) or an afternoon break.

Off the main kitchen/living room is the other bathroom/shower that turned into the "kids" bathroom. I'll just say that we mostly simply kept the door shut! :) The kids room had 2 twin beds and the hotel brought us a nice futon mattress for my 12 year old along with some extra pillows and sheets. He palced it on the floor between the 2 twin beds and never said another word about it. We had planned to rotate who got the futon, but he liked it so much he vever traded it out.

There is another ful wall slider in this bedroom that goes out to the lanai. All very nice.

We were in the "Canoe" building with a view of a very nice garden area. It all looked recently re-done with 2 nice BBQ grills for your use. We used them once and grilled burgers and hotdogs. Awesome. We could see the ocean if you look just right but we knew we paid for a garden view and that what we expected. You could open the slider and hear the waves or walk to the first floor and you are at the ocean.

Nearly every morning I walked the path between all the resorts on that part of the ocean. You are on the sunrise side and it is spectacular. Nice ocean breeze. Several times I would stop and sit and relax in one of the hammocks they have overlooking the ocean. Heaven. Another really nice thing they do is the daily poolside lunch special. They post the menu a week in advance and the food was good. Most specials were either $6.95 or $7.95. A relative bargain on Kauai.

While you are enjoying your lunch special,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coach_Lange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

While the hotel room is clean with a fully equipped kitchen I would not recommend the hotel if you are looking for an ocean front resort feel or plan to do activities on the island, there is a shopping center across the street but several storefronts are out of business, the beach chairs need to be upgraded and the pool is quite small, the bushes surrounding the pool and hot tub obstruct a view of the ocean. Also it is a far drive if you plan to do events and activities on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our second time here. Last stay was in 2009. It was still just as good now. We got a 2 bedroom suite. It is spacious and has two bedrooms. I was disappointed that they wouldn't let us check in before 4pm. But we sat in the chairs facing the ocean and relaxed while waiting. There were a few issues with our room. The light fixture in the bathroom slipped down and started to fall. We called the front desk and someone came to fix it within 6 mins. Also the rooms have to be kept around 76 degrees. We had put it down and the next morning there was water at the front door. But it was still comfortable and there are ceiling fans. We asked for cream and within 5 mins a worker had 20 packets. They were all very nice and helpful. The location is beautiful The pool always has seating and it really pretty. I would recommend watching the sunrise on the beach there and also walking across the field and down to the Courtyard Marriott which is another great place to watch the sunrise. There are tidal pools between the two properties. Oh and the prices to stay here are VERY good. I got in on a black Friday special. I only spent $230 per night for a two bedroom suite with full kitchen and table that seats 6 and two bedrooms and large living room. There are no elevators so if you cant walk, then ask for the 1st floor. You can hear people walking above you but our above neighbors were all polite. Good location with grocery store right nearby. There is a lot of traffic but we never waited more than a minute to turn out of the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaDoctorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. It's located at the east cost of Kauai island. And it's convenient to get to the Ke'e Beach, poipu beach and waimea canyon. There are grocery market in walking distance. It's also very close to a fun playground. Big bathroom, however no tub. Overall, we are very satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Min W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived at 2pm, exhausted from our flight, and had to wait in the lobby for 2 hours until 4pm because check in is strictly after that time...
While we were waiting, they tried to sell us a timeshare. We immediately declined. I didn't realize that this resort was more than a hotel. I think that the hotel experience differs significantly from the timeshare experience because most of the good reviews are from the latter.
The room was average. It had a nice outdoor patio but was dingy inside and in need of updating. Sleep quality was fine and the hotel was quiet.
The best part of our stay was the easy access to the beach, which was WAY less crowded than what you'll find on Oahu. As an island, I now prefer Kauai!
Maybe if I pretended that I wanted a timeshare we would have gotten a better room? Who knows.

Room Tip: Tell them you're interested in the time share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I just got back from The Kauai Beach Resort at the beachboy.

I own a week at this resort, but it was the first time I stayed there.
The resort is beautiful, spacious and comfortable.

The staff is Terrific. I will go there again! :-)

Room Tip: No elevators, so be sure to ask for 1st floor if you can't climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Lou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.7 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Property: Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Green Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing