We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This review focuses on excellent customer service throughout the resort, but in particular by Tasha the concierge and Thomas in marketing. We met both of them when we came to our room to find that the previous occupants had not yet moved out and were nowhere to be found. Both worked beyond their regular work day and gave us personal cell and email addresses to make certain we could call them with any questions we had. I might add that this was on a Friday night. We were given dining vouchers and special rates on activities because of the inconvenience. When the couple did return to their room, Thomas made sure that a special housekeeping crew was called back to prepare the room for us. Neither Tasha nor Thomas was responsible for the glitch, but their customer service was outstanding.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JandK30976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCBBGM, General Manager at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Mahalo for the positive comments about customer service. So often we focus on the negative and report the bad experiences we encounter. There are so many times that our Concierge team works hard to make a guest's stay GREAT! It is part of their job to ask people to go on a time share tour but that is not the only thing they do. They really are focused on making everyone's stay a great one even if that guest is not staying at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. Just to be clear the issue the guest encountered was not one here at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy but a neighboring property. Our concierge team worked with contacts they had at the neighboring property to help the guest resolve their challenges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    210
    60
    17
    15
See reviews for
185
352
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Kauai Coast Resort for 8 days in 2012, but didn't get around to writing a review until now. We loved our stay and would definitely go back again! The staff was wonderful and treated us and everyone in our group (25 people) great! We were actually married on the grounds here with our reception at the Hukilau Lanai on-site. From my first initial contact with the staff (late 2011) to the moment we left, we felt at home here. My only complaint was with booking our group rate with their corporate office out of AZ...the booking manager was not always prompt. No disrespect to the staff on-site as they were wonderful. Yes, there are no elevators, but that didn't matter to us. If you must have a ground floor, just call ahead of time to try to get one. The room was great and bed super comfortable (I'm considering contacting them as we are shopping for a new bed to find out what theirs were). Even though they didn't come and clean everyday (because we had the "green rate"), they did replenish any towels and take out the trash everyday. We could call the front desk for anything we needed and they would be there within minutes. We took advantage of the pool and hot tub everyday and night - the grounds at and around the pool were beautiful. We had a welcome barbeque for everyone on the first night everyone arrived and one of the few grill areas worked great for this. The pool bar and snack area was handy and service great! After a day or two, we began mixing drinks in our room after getting groceries and would drink those at the pool to save a little money. Outside of our reception, we ate at the Hukilau Lanai on two separate occasions which was delicious...a must eat place on the island! When we go back to Hawaii to celebrate and anniversary in the upcoming years, we will definitely go back to the Kauai Coast Resort!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you require a ground floor, call ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Check-in and check-out were handled in a very timely manner. Staff was very friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Ali'i building on the second floor in a one bedroom condo. The unit was very clean, with a fully stocked kitchen. Our unit faced north overlooking the large vacant field towards the Courtyard by Marriott with a partial ocean view. Great area to walk along the coast, we enjoyed watching the locals fish on the weekend.
We liked the size of the resort, not to small and not to large. Guests can enjoy lounging along the resort's coastline and in the evening the lounging can continue in the new fire pit area.
Certainly doesn't hurt to have the number one restaurant in Kauai on property, The Hukilau Lanai.
If traffic is a concern and you are heading north there is a by-pass just to the left as you exit the resort, this drops you at the north end of Kapaa.
We did not experience the Concierge concerns expressed in other reviews. We did listen to the pitch and in return recieved $100 off our Rainbow Kayak Tour, which was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room in the Ali'i building on the 2nd floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here 10 nights. 3 nights in small, studio type room, 7 nights in large 1 bedroom with kitchen. Nearly all rooms have a partial ocean view.
The small room is too small. Not enough room for 2 people and bags. No storage for anything. Shared balcony (divided by fence,no privacy) with room next to it. Was cleaned every day. I do not recommend this room.
The large room has plenty of room for 2, could sleep 4 easily. Large private balcony. Full kitchen stocked with all utensils/pots/pans - no rice cooker. It had small gnats in the kitchen when we arrived. I assume it is because housecleaning was done rarely. It was cleaned only once, on the 4th day of our stay.
Located near everything. 30 minutes to north shore, 45 minutes to the canyon.
Free parking (parking spaces are very small and tight, hard to find on weekends), free internet. Barbecue grill access. Resort located on beach, near Aston Islander (rooms looked small and outdated), and Plantation Hale (street view only, long walk from beach).
Go to farmer's market in Coconut Marketplace parking lot on Tuesday and Thursday mornings.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the small studio room. Go to farmer's market in Coconut Marketplace parking lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent our 1 year anniversary back at our first meeting place, the beautiful Kauai Coast Resort! The staff was more than accommodating and helpful! Our room was just as we remembered in which made it all the more wonderful and memorable to be back there again. Clean and all you need to have a complete stay. No place else has all the accommodations at such a great price! The only thing was not having internet service in our room as we needed the wireless service to perform tasks and connect with family. Wireless service is available but had very poor service not only in our room but most parts of the resort. Great renovations to the pool area but notifications should've been posted when making reservations or booking to allow guests to know and choose if the use of the pool would affect they're choice of dates to stay at the resort.

Room Tip: Every room are the same, but the garden and ocean sets it apart of course! But getting it at a disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Now that we've been & come home I can provide some feedback on other reviews. This is a resort that you need to weigh what is important to you. Pro's first: Large units, most importantly very clean. Nice Lanai's, we also had a partial ocean view & stayed in the Ali'i building facing the empty green space on the third floor. Let me say that we did not have any issues with noise coming from the green space like another reviewer had. The next best thing is that this resort is just a few steps over to the Coconut Marketplace where you can eat at Eggbert's (open til 2pm ish), there is also a Fish Hut & an Island Grill - all were good. Also a Farmer's Market two mornings a week. Aside from these food choices, the resort is also a short distance over to more reasonably priced restaurants and grocery stores. A good central location for going up island to the North and to Poipu & Wiamea Canyon. Now for the Con's: We were kept waiting to check in upon our arrival (at least 45 minutes). Concierge alert: this reviewer agrees another one...give them your room number (they say it's for parking) & they call you every morning at 8:30am to try to get you in for a timeshare presentation. After the 3rd morning & my husband's insistence, they stopped calling. The master bed was lumpy and dipped in the middle; the pool & poolside bar was closed the whole week we were there! We did have noisy yelling & door slamming neighbors that could be heard. Parking can be an issue, the closer lot gets filled up quite fast, depending on where your building is this can be an inconvenience.
All in all, weighing the good and bad, we think we would return here. We liked the location! Be sure not to miss the Saturday Market at the Kauai College, it's a good one!

Room Tip: Corner on the 3rd floor of Ali'i building facing the green space had nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kathi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort is decent, but the concierge desk was horrible. They offered a partial refund on one of our trips that we booked and then reneged on their agreement. It's an ok place to stay as long as you don't believe the service desk, or run into any problems...then it's a complete nightmare dealing with customer service. It's better to find a place that doesn't lie to its customers. They also told me that they don't book online for their rooms, yet I see available rooms all over the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ambi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCBBGM, General Manager at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am very sorry that you had an issue with our Concierge Desk. I have brought up the concerns voiced recently to the department manager. if you could please contact me directly here at the resort I woudl like to get more specifics to see if this is a specific person or something that needs to be addressed at a higher level. 808-822-3441 Mahalo for your comments and helping us get better!!

Troy Spalding
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.7 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Property: Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing