We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent views”

Sleeping Giant Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Best of Kauai Tour by Land River and Air
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Lihue
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is one of my favorite hikes on Kauai - about 45 minutes or so up the mountain (I like the backside trail). After reaching the top, look for the 'cave' located near the chin. Amazing views all the way north to Anahola and south to Lihue.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    197
    30
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Amazing view, easy to find and was not secluded nor over crowded. This was our first hike and we will go back for more apparently there are three different paths to take.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jomontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Be prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thought this hike was a little difficult, 2 miles up and 2 miles down climbing over huge boulders. Sooo worth is when you get to the top. Amazing views of the island. take a camera for some great panoramics but also wear good shoes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rdares1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“He's Grown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This has always been my favorite attraction from when I was a little girl. He would be the first attraction I wanted to see. However through erosion and over time, he's elongated himself, and he's not as prominent as before. He still is history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ipudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A trek in real nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took the trail of Koana road past the waterfalls. It is a nice trail with moderate incline. The end is always muddy, but the view on the top is worth it. Not too much mosquitos.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Giant Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sleeping Giant Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing