We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Great Exercise!”

Sleeping Giant Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Best of Kauai Tour by Land River and Air
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Great Exercise!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the hotel managers recommended this hike as I was too sunburn to go into the sun and my calves were still sore from hiking the Na Pali Coast. This was a somewhat challenging hike nearly two miles up - it felt great to be outdoors and the view from the top is spectacular! Go beyond the picnic tables to the very top! You feel like you are on top of the world!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    204
    31
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sultan, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the easiest, but views to savor”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

From where we stayed in Waipouli, the trailhead is a scant 10 minute drive. The trailhead we took started at an obvious turnout. Obvious that it was a turnout, not obvious it was for Nounou trail. I understand there are several areas to approach from, and this one was from directions at trails.com. The parking areas comfortably fits 15 or so cars, but there were only 5-6 when we got there. The trail is a modest continuous climb in elevation, mostly switchbacks. This is not a trail for young children, any infirm, or wearing flip flops. Sneakers at a minimum are necessary, and more if it isn't dry like when we were there. There are a few sports where you actually have to climbs a bit of rock, or perhaps scamper would be a better term. The distance is clearly marked with small ground level signs noting one quarter mile increments. About 80% of the way you reach a covered area with a couple of picnic tables and a bench at a nice view area. Don't be fooled, your not quite there. This trail does not have "this way" signs, although there are several obvious pink ribbons tied to bushes to mark the way. At the table area there is a trails leading down the other side. Take this and in a minute your at an intersection where you can go to the "chin", or the "brow". The brow is higher and has a great view, and the chin has a more panoramic view, probably where most yYouTube videos are taken from. The chin is much much narrower, and we didn't feel safe the last 30 feet or so, so we passed. The views along the way are fantastic as you climb, just take some care. A walking stick helps a great deal. No restrooms or kitsch shops, just great views. And it's free, how many place in Hawaii are that?

Helpful?
Thank mwhenry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice adventurous hike”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

as i was staying in kappa for me the drive to the hiking trail was hardly 10 min from my resort, its not hard to find the parking of the trail but make sure you dont pass it as the board staying the trail head is almost loosing all the colors :) but trust me you will be able to find the start of the trail easily. the hike is roundtrip 4.4 miles and will take ~3 hours depending on your speed, its a switchback hike and only after .75 marker you will find the steepness kicking in. Make sure you follow the trail signs there are some short paths which are more steeper but you never know where it will lead you. For me it was adventurous hike has some parts where you almost do rock climbing (if you don't follow the trail lol)Once you reach the 2 mile marker there is picnic shed area where you can relax if you want.

if you want to go to the giant's nose and then top of head (ear), you need to hike more then 200-300 feet and which some moderate steep hike + rock climbing, Once there you will have amazing views of the kappa town and waluia river. lets see if you can find the log book on top. I am happy that i was able to finish 1 hike in my this hawaii trip also ..

aloha.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_4m_Krypton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lush green; east shore view; moderately streneous family trail”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I climbed up to the picnic tables with my wife and 11 years old daughter. It was a steady climb on a good trail. We did fine with sneakers, but the trail was dry making slipperiness not an issue for us. It had lush tree/plan for most part with some clearings providing view of the east shore line. I did not see a sign for the trail head. Just see cars parked on your right as you go from the highway. I had read somewhere that I may come across guava trees with fruits I could eat and was disappointed to not find them! For a family with just average fitness, this was a good workout, but nothing too strenuous. Allow 2 hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srini-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scenic Trail with Great Views”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hiked the east side of Sleeping Giant which is approx 2 miles to the top. The path is full of switchbacks & an easy to medium effort hike. Well worth the time & the extra effort to continue on past the picnic tables. That will require a slight rock climb at the end, but once on top you a fantastic view of the island. Hikes in the morning are probably better, prior to the heat & humidity increasing. Walking sticks are left at the big tree at the start of the trail & a good idea for the hike. Be sure & take water with you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleeping Giant Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sleeping Giant Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing