We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth stopping”
Review of Monicos Taqueria

Monicos Taqueria
Ranked #11 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth stopping”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our flight got in late, so by the time we went looking for food, everything was closed, including Monica's. But they took pity on us, and opened the kitchen for 4 hungry travelers while the staff had their dinner too! Food was surprisingly good (try the guacamole!) and the portions were huge (she warned us!). Great place to stop and have dinner in a fun atmosphere. Prices were definitely reasonable given the prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueBee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    212
    61
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monicos Taqueria”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Wife and I blew by this place on the way into town from the Airport. Do not judge a book by its cover. The service was great and the employees very friendly. Food was really good but quality does take time and I'd gladly wait all over again. Prices very reasonable as the portions are large and we could not finish ours. Everything was really fresh. It is a popular spot and we were lucky to arrive early enough to get a seat. Will not make reservations for a party of two or smaller and we were told the later you come the harder to get a seat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Ajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

People seem to think that just because you're in paradise that you shouldn't want Mexican food?? People in China want burgers...
We would recommend this place and will return for yummy food. We had the ahi fish tacos, seafood burrito, chicken taquitos & ahi flautas...portions were fulfilling & fresh. If you like hot & spicy, the habanero salsa was a kicking!! Food was delicious & servers were wonderful & friendly.
Go! You won't regret it.

Helpful?
Thank sweetp623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“World's Best Seafood Burrito”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Have lived on Kauai 38 yr but never had better scallops or shrimp than in their seafood burrito. May need a doggie bag to bring some home because its Large! A bit hard to find. Take an outdoor table if possible. Gets a bit noisy inside. Good margaritas.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service slow, environment noisy but good food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Their sign says that quality takes time ... and they were very full ... and the staff was working really hard. We enjoyed our food, however, just wished the guacamole servings were larger.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monicos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Monicos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing