We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always amazing food.”
Review of Monicos Taqueria

Monicos Taqueria
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“always amazing food.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been to this restaurant every time I visit the island of Kauai. It's simply a must for myself and family. The steak nachos, the garlic shrimp quesadilla, wet burrito, it's all simply the best. Smallish space and great food, make it busy,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    219
    63
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food but very busy and very small. Expect to wait. Staff is very friendly but getting your food can be a little slow. Lots of locals so it is fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizGray85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
“Some of the best fish tacos I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went on a Thursday night, it was a bit busy so service was a little below par. The food however, was amazing! The fish tacos were some of the best I've ever had. I'm from New Jersey and consider myself a "foodie" and have eaten at some of the best Mexican restaurants in NJ,NYC, and Philly. This place ranks up there with the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spudwrench11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and true”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've been in the restaurant industry for 12 years now. Varying from dives to now a fully sustainable inventive sushi joint. This was amazing! Tje shrimp and scallop were so appropriately cooked within an enchilada. I've been to multiple places and eaten along the coast of Mexico and eaten seafood in the east of the states and plenty of California's fine cuisine. The price point and quality; out of this world. An amazing blend of cultures. Enjoy this tucked in small place. In my book if you can cook a scallop correctly... Sigh you won

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makeitproper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian Mexican food experience in casual setting.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here while we were staying in Kapaa. The food was very good. For me food tastes best when one can taste the freshness of ingredients. And this is what I loved about the food. Our waitress was very friendly and helped us pick the right things ensuring our meal was vegetarian. I would recommend this restaurant greatly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suntash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monicos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Monicos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing