We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Mexican food!”
Review of Monicos Taqueria

Monicos Taqueria
Ranked #11 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Mexican food!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great little restaurant not far from the Coconut marketplace in Kapaa. Always seemed to be very busy and we now know why - the food is delicious!

We didn't want to wait for a table inside and we weren't worried about not having alcohol outside so we sat in the courtyard which was very pleasant.

The menu is extensive and has just about anything you can think of in terms of Mexican food! We would both recommend the seafood tacos - they were stacked full - and I enjoyed the roasted pork burrito with red and green sauce.

Great service, great food, I would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigmedsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    215
    61
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We come from San Diego, so the bar is set pretty high for Mexican food for us. Overall the food is good. It's not quite like home but we weren't disappointed. You can't get the fresh fish in SD like you can in Kauai, so this is what really made our visit worth while. I had fish tacos and my fiance had a fish burrito - both amazing! It's a little pricey, but then again it was seafood. My only complaint was one free basket of chips and salsa - any more and you have to pay $2. The salsa is ok... it's more like pico de gallo than salsa. I'd prefer some more heat, but it was still good. Visit if you like Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food I've ever had!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were very impressed with this restaurant. It is smaller but has a nice feel to it. The food was excellent. The chicken, unlike most mexican restaurants I've been to, was tender and juicy. Everything we had was excellent. Highly recommend them!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank actoymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, WA
2 reviews
“Unlikely spot for great Mexican food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here 3 times now. Friendly staff and great food. Think great Mexican food mixed in with some fresh fish. It's not a big place so there might be a bit of a wait, but it's definitely worth it. Highly recommend the burrito with the fish of the day. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Found the food to be very tasty. Enjoyed the carne asana tacos and shrimp enchiladas. Service was very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monicos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Monicos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing