We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent food, good service”
Review of Monicos Taqueria

Monicos Taqueria
Ranked #11 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“decent food, good service”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ordered take-out and when it took longer than normal, the server was very apologetic and gave us some free chips and salsa. The food was pretty good and I would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    215
    61
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
415 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Better Mexican on the mainland”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very disappointed. The food and service were nothing special. We've had much better on the mainland. Expensive, like everything else on the island, but $6 for a Dos Equis seemed especially out of line.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I didn't expect to find really good Mexican food in Kapaa, but this was really good. It's a small informal place. They have seating outside too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrammaG2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“salsa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

great hawaiin-mexican food. fresh fish tacos, burritos, you name it. the salsas are great. if you can't do hot(i can't ) they have a milder version. yummmm. worth a visit every time

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank animalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food EVER”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Is it weird to have the best Mexican food on an Hawaiian island? It was so good that we ate there twice in 5 days. The wait was kinda crazy the first time we went but it was well worth the wait. I never eat the rice and beans that come with any Mexican entree but I loved the ones they serve here.

Helpful?
1 Thank maomao01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Monicos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Monicos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing