We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food, Great Value!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verde Restaurant

Verde Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local fave spot.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Great Value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Visited Verde restaurant in Kapaa based on other reviews at TripAdvisor. I must admit that we have enjoyed the best Mexican food at this restaurant during our visit to Kauai island. They have great and fresh seafood selection on menu. We tried Mahi Mahi burritos and they were amazing. They have a good selection of fruit juices too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    263
    61
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Freshest most delicious Mexican food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited Verde for early dinner on 7/1/14 based on other reviews. We were very glad we did! This is definitely a local hangout and for good reason. The food is fantastic!

We both ordered fish tacos. Because we couldn't decide on which fish tacos, we were told we could order one of each. I had the shrimp, mahi mahi and ahi tuna. All three were so fresh and absolutely delicious. The garlic aioli on the shrimp taco is to die for. The other two had another aioli which was perfect for the fresh fish.

Our server, Dylan, was fabulous in every way. Not only was he attentive and helpful, he was very funny, and, well, fabulous. We will request him next time we go, and there will be a next time. I can honestly say, this was the best Mexican food I've had. Don't miss this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hunnylvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bang for your Buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were referred to this restaurant by some Tamba employees nearby. It is a small area, but they definitely get crowded quickly. I probably had the best fresh catch burrito EVER. It was jammed packed with so many different flavors, textures and colors! I don't remember everything that was in it because I ate it so fast! The complimentary chips and salsa in the beginning were great. They were fresh and not too filling. The prices for food were great for the value, quality and quantity of our meals. Definitely looking forward to coming back to this place again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ezekiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Monday Margarita Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a small restaurant doing Hawaiian Mexican food well. Monday night it's $3 margaritas so the place was packed. I had ono and mahi mahi tacos that were really very good. The burritos are huge and can be shared by two. We were a party of seven and everyone enjoyed their food. It's not fancy, and is located in a shopping mall next to Foodland, but it's a fun little spot with food to match.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Value in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had high expectations and they more than met them. There wasn't space available, but they cleared room just for us and made us feel like royalty. The food was hot, delicious, fresh and filling. We are fairly critical when it comes to mexican food and this place was above and beyond.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thecandlelighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Verde Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing