We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to cook Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Restaurant

Verde Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local fave spot.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They know how to cook Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We eat Mexican food at restaurants at home and needed something comparable. We went to another restaurant here in the area and were disappointed. When we tried this Verde Restaurant, it was good. The food was cooked well. The portions were good sized. The restaurant is in a strip mall and kind of made us afraid to try...but the visit was rewarded. I did not like my Margarita drink though, but the food was definitely good, and the price reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    241
    54
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian/vegan food at Verde!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I enjoyed dinner at Verde while visiting Kapaa. My brother and I don't eat meat, dairy, fish, or eggs, and the person working at the counter was happy to tell us what could be made vegan. I had a Verde Verde burrito, which was stuffed with fresh guacamole, nicely cooked green beans and broccoli, golden-brown chunks of potato, and green chile sauce. The $3 margarita on the rocks (Monday special) was a nice deal, the standard sweet&sour mix margarita. Verde is friendly, informal, and I loved the guacamole!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shantybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eat here in Kapaa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros:
Great Mexican food!
$4 margaritas from 4-6 and all day Monday!
Awesome service from friendly, genuine, and cute staff.

Cons:
Strip mall

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A small, hole-in-the-wall restaurant with reasonable prices for Kauai. The ahi tostada was wonderful. Be aware that the fish is nearly raw, so if you want it cooked more, you will have to ask for that.

Helpful?
Thank islander456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food and a Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This restaurant is a must visit if you are staying at any of the resorts nearby. It is easy to miss as it is located in a strip mall and is somewhat small but you won't be disappointed by the food. Happy Hour is from 3 pm - 5 pm and I believe it was $4.00 margharitas which were very tasty with the salt rim and all. The food was amazing both in taste and size. All three of us had different meals and we each could not finish and had to bring it back to the resort for the next day.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bissen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Verde Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing