We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum Muffins!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Java Kai

Java Kai
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum Muffins!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A great vibe, fast service and the perfect power up for an island adventure. The apple blueberry bran muffins have brought me back here twice. Coffee is very good as well, though I'm not a pureblood coffee drinker. The breakfasts coming out of the kitchen looked yum as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiskyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    162
    42
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Terrific latte and comfortable atmosphere. Good place to hang out and chat with friends. I would go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Coffee lovers, go here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've said this in many of my Kauai reviews, but I've been coming here yearly for over 16 years. Hands down my favorite coffee shop on the island! Awesome espresso drinks, amazing fresh smoothies (get the go green, best ever!), fresh baked pastries (I don't know which is my favorite), and this year I tried the breakfast sandwiches, and falafel wrap for lunch. Amazing. I think that's all I need to say. And the eclectic atmosphere is a bonus. I noticed this year they had remodeled a bit - nice job!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlanToSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
245 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Convienent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Here is a place that is open early and seemingly a little more affordable, offering bagels, sandwiches, scones, etc that aim to please. The service was fairly quick and agreeable, a good place to stop in on the way to an early morning adventure on The Garden Island!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Freakishly good coffee & treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I read about this place in one of those cheesy tourist magazines but decided to check it out anyway. This place is awesome!!! Not only is their coffee amazing, but they have crazy good drink selection from smoothies, teas, frozen coffees, etc and they have all kinds of pastries and food with vegan and gluten free selections as well as the full fat tasty stuff :) they also have these rockin' skull t-shirts that had quickly become my favorite tee ever. I am still looking for a place that makes as good of drinks but since I can't I guess I'll have to go back to Java Kai in Kauai again :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Kai also viewed

 

Been to Java Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing