We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best kayaking and hiking experience ever!”
Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
Ranked #1 of 50 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uluwehi Waterfalls aka Secret Falls is now in full bloom. Blockages have been removed; the falls has never looked better! A boardwalk now covers the muddy ditch. Don't miss this amazing attraction which is fun and educational for your whole family from toddlers to seniors.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best kayaking and hiking experience ever!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I could not have had more fun! We had Kawika as our guide. He was engaging, fun, very knowledgeable, and made this the perfect Hawaiian experience. The group we were paired with was a great mix. We cannot recommend this group highly enough! Easy to find and take your old tennis shoes for the muddy hike back to a beautiful waterfall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,990
    230
    44
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best 3 in 1 - Kayak, Hike & Swim!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you enjoy leisure kayaking and hiking, this would be the best combination. My advice is to get a cheap pair of shoes or a pair that you are prepared to discard after the muddy trek. Be prepared to wade through waist deep water. Beach shorts and tank top (swimwear underneath) would be appropriate attire with a light jacket (if you like to keep warm). Coming from Asia, I am amazed and relieved to find out that there are no leeches, bugs or snakes lurking around during our hike. Our guide, Forrest, trekked barefooted all the way effortlessly! While the hike is easy and has relatively flat ground, the initial and some parts of it are pretty steep - definitely not easy for people with bad knee caps! Our group had a senior couple who managed to kayak through Wailua but had to turn back as they declined to hike. The river was calm in the early morning 9am but got pretty windy when we return so it took us a bit more effort to paddle.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cinteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guide”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We lucked out and decided to use Kayak Wailua to go to Secret Falls. We had a great afternoon trip, and it is a good workout kayaking two miles one way and then hiking to the falls. The trails were pretty muddy when we went, but with some water shoes from Walmart in Lihue we were fine. It did rain during the day, but that didn't hold us back at all. The best part of the trip was our wonderful guide Chelsea that immediately learned everyone's name and went out of her way to make sure everyone had a great trip. When we realized we left our camera in the car, she took photos of us several times and emailed them to us later. The falls are nice, but the water is cold. We still got in an swam around. There are other tour groups along the way, but they seem to have the timing down so we had the entire falls to ourselves for about 30 minutes.
Pack a good lunch, sunscreen and waterproof camera and plan on making this the entire day adventure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 73F250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great workout, great views, great hike”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I booked our trip online. I read the reviews, and it sounded like the hike would be fairly quick compared to the kayak. After completing the journey, it seemed like a 60% kayak, 40%hike.

We drove in from Princeville. Easy drive, but had traffic on the way home. Kapaa has some good lunch spots, so we drove in a little bit earlier to get a pre-hike/kayak meal in. There's a subway close by as well, which is where we grabbed our lunch for the hike/water fall picnic.

Location is nice. Parking was easy. We took advantage of borrowing shoes. I highly recommend grabbing some shoes with good tred. I did not and I had a very hard time in the mud compared to others.

Kawika was our guide. Great guy. Very knowledgeable and funny. We had a small group which made it really cool. Kayaking was a workout! It rained about 5 mins before we arrived at the hiking spot. I've never enjoyed rain more. It felt great. The hike was fun. Very slippery. Walking stick is definitely recommended. The water fall was really pretty. Water was a bit cold, but definitely worth a swim.

It felt great completing the hike/kayak. The next day, I wasn't too sore despite the hard work. We were very happy with our experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience. Extremely well-done”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was a highlight! We had a guided tour with Chelsea, who went out of her way to learn everybody's name and to make sure the kayak and hike through the woods to the waterfall was fun and safe. I was impressed with her poise and organization. This was a fun time on an absolutely beautiful rain-fed river, through a great tropical forest full of all kinds of strange trees that she pointed out, and a picture-perfect waterfall that you can actually swim right underneath. This activity is worth every nickel. We would definitely do it again if we were ever to back to Hawaii.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pvsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing