We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant day, would've appreciated advance notice of slippery hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
Ranked #1 of 50 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uluwehi Waterfalls aka Secret Falls is now in full bloom. Blockages have been removed; the falls has never looked better! A boardwalk now covers the muddy ditch. Don't miss this amazing attraction which is fun and educational for your whole family from toddlers to seniors.
boston
2 reviews
“pleasant day, would've appreciated advance notice of slippery hiking”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our kayaking and history along the trip were great. Our Guide helped us notice things we would've overlooked. I would've appreciated some advance notice about how slippery and muddy the trail was, however. Though in very good shape, I have medical problems with my ankles, and the terrain was not what I should've exposed myself to. Thankfully no mishaps along the way, but I wish I knew what I was getting myself into so I could make an informed decision about whether or not it was right for me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vaca-181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPete2010, Manager at Kayak Wailua, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We regret that the hike was muddier than you expected. Sometimes the trail is bone dry; sometimes it is very muddy. Both situations can occur on the same day depending upon the often unpredictable rainfall in the rainforest. Therefore, the guides do not know the actual conditions until they encounter the trail on the day in question Based upon your comments we can constructively use your complaint to modify our description of our tour "before" a kayaker/hiker commits to a reservation in the future by mentioning the potential extreme conditions which can occur on rare occasions.

Mahalo nui loa,

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    223
    44
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tour, great guide!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic adventure with Kyle this week. We had to delay our tour because heavy rains had the river flowing with debris. After an hour, we got the all clear and headed out. I have never kayaked before but was able to do it. Beautiful vistas as you paddle down the river and an interesting hike through the jungle. River was too high to cross at the regular spot but Kyle found us a safe way across slightly downriver. He took all of the group's safety and experience into account when doing so. Falls were raging and beautiful.
This is a good tour but I don't think it would be for everyone as there is at times, strenuous activity and there can be perilous hiking conditions (waist deep water, ankle deep mud, over slippery rocks on steep embankment). Still I would highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great trip!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Forest was a really fun & knowledgeable guide. Would definitely recommend to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank staceyaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day well spent- really enjoyed Kyle”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went on the 9 am kayak/hike tour with Kyle on 9/28. He was a fantastic guide, providing us with tons of information regarding plants and animals on Kauai as well as providing us with a very effective education of proper kayaking techniques. Kyle was extremely encouraging to paddlers and hikers and encouraged those brave enough to try stand up paddling on the river and lent a hand to those who might have been tipped overboard! (this one:)) The tour was slightly muddy but Kyle instructed us to grab a walking stick and coached us on best techniques for making our way to the waterfall. Kyle knew the best places for a photo opportunity and took pictures of all participants. I would not hesitate to recommend this company for this experience. The tour came to 55 dollars a head including all fees and the optional upgrade to a high back support. The hike is not appropriate for those with poor balance or agility and the paddle back from the hike required significant endurance for paddling against the wind and courant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jheffernpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
713 reviews
370 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Beautiful River”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a well-run, safe company. The guide was good at explaining tips on kayaking clearly.
A couple of suggestions--
1.their pricing is a little misleading. They advertise $39 tours, but this is "the same" as the $50 cost once they add tax and "ramp fees" (which must be somewhat substantial). Also, it is $5 extra for a higher back rest (which we did fine without, but which they tout as more comfortable--a bit of an "up-sell", one wonders why they don't include them on their equipment if they are better).
2.the company attitude is "business-like" and our guide was quiet, not the usual "Aloha" friendliness and laid-back attitude we've come used to in Kauaii.
3.a list of equipment to bring with you on their ad or web-site would be helpful (some of it is common sense): sunscreen, hat, sunglasses (glasses-keeper is a good idea), water shoes (NOT flip-flops), swimsuit, or clothes that can get wet, bug spray, your lunch, drinks, towel, camera. They will provide you with a small cooler and a large, dry bag for your things.

Our tour was not able to go to the waterfall or take the hike or get off the kayaks or swim or have lunch on the river. We ran into a flash flood, which turned us around. Although they gave us a partial refund, the price we paid still included activities we didn't get to participate in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPete2010, Manager at Kayak Wailua, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our waterfall tour. September 30th was a freak day. Only a few tours made it to the waterfalls. The later tours were turned around for safety reasons. Regarding our pricing of $39.95. The total price with tax & fees is always presented before commitment. No other company offers a lower price than us. We use the best kayaks, paddles, and backrests. Our standard backrests are included and adequate. The upgrade backrest is offered due to popular demand. Raising our base rate to include the upgrade would exclude young families on a budget. Regarding the guide's demeanor: conditions during a flash flood require serious attention to the rapidly changing situation. Your leader has guided this tour more than 2500 times. Your safety was his highest priority and his full attention was keeping you out of harm's way. We appreciate your review and hope that you will give us another chance. Sincerely, Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing