We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip - great guided tour”
Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
Ranked #1 of 50 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uluwehi Waterfalls aka Secret Falls is now in full bloom. Blockages have been removed; the falls has never looked better! A boardwalk now covers the muddy ditch. Don't miss this amazing attraction which is fun and educational for your whole family from toddlers to seniors.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
1 review
“Fantastic trip - great guided tour”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I highly recommend the kayaking trip with Kayak Wailua - great fun, our knowledgeable guide Renee was very informative about Hawaiian culture and various plant life - we all had a blast!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,954
    227
    44
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great day on the Wailua”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Kayak Wailua is a great company to have a wonderful kayak and hike (5 hours) on the Wailua River. KYLE was our guide and was very knowledgeable and made you feel very comfortable (my first time kayaking) in the water. The total kayaking is 5 miles round trip with a mile hike in and out to a beautiful waterfall. The big plus from this company is that you BYOL (bring your own lunch or snack) which means the cost of the trip is dramatically less than the competitors. $39.95 each compared to $89.95+++ and you do the exact same trip. The falls were not crowded as I had read from other reviews because they time their trips to work around the crowds too. Another MUST do and the same wonderful family ran business that does Na Pali Experience into the caves.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ilava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Thank you to Andy for helping to make our adventure memorable! First you load all of your items into a water proof bag they provide and a lunch cooler. We then began a short drive to the water. The staff unloaded everything for us and gave us thorough instruction. A nicely paced kayak trip to the hiking trail (I am very inexperienced and was able to do this just fine!) Andy was very knowledgable about plant life and the history of where we were exploring! We hiked into the waterfall (your feet will get muddy and there is a chance you'll slip but not a strenuous hike). We hung out there for a while. He offered to take pictures etc while we swam under the waterfall and ate lunch. We then hiked out a different way so we could see different plant life and explore different territory. Kayaked back and unloaded. It was great. One piece of advice - go to the bathroom before you leave - only restroom along the way is a porta potty and the water. Would definitely go back and a great price!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mareliz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great kayak trip and hike to Secret Falls!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had heard a lot about the kayak trip up the Wailua River and decided on Kayak Wailua as the company to go with for making the journey. The entire staff was extremely friendly. Our guide, Kyle, was very helpful, offering great pointers for keeping the kayak straight and making the trip as easy and comfortable as possible. He was very friendly, making a point to remember everyone's name and getting to know everyone in the group as best as he could in the 5 hour trip. Once we got to the hike, he would stop every now and then, offering us interesting information about the history of the island and the various types of plants and animals we saw. He truly went out of his way to make sure everyone had a great time.
A few things to take note: definitely wear sneakers or hiking sandals that can get wet, as the hike requires you to cross a shallow stream. Definitely avoid wearing flip flops or flimsy sandals that will get lost in the water. The shoes or hiking sandals are also a must for the swim at the end, as the rocks at the bottom are pretty slippery. Also, the staff recommends that you go for a tandem kayak, however if you have kayaked a few times and have reasonable upper body strength I think the trip is definitely doable in a single kayak. Try to get off the dock first so you can have a good lead and relax instead of having to catch up with the rest of the group.
Overall, this was a great trip and definitely manageable for inexperienced kayakers. Everyone in our family has kayaked numerous times but I think beginners would be able to make this trip comfortably. If you come to Kauai, I would definitely recommend this activity!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Payal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bargain and FABULOUS!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Seriously this trip cost $108 for 2 people with the back rests (pay the $5 for the back rest!!! You will thank me!) I researched an many of the others charge $120+ per person but it includes a lunch. The lunches that the other groups had stunk compared to mine, and I would gladly bring my own any day at that cost. Our guide, Renee, was sweet, smart, funny and wonderful -- we enjoyed her knowledge and her company. This trip is not for sissies. You WILL get wet, you WILL get muddy and you WILL have to work a little bit. If you aren't in it for some of that -- don't go -- the rest of the people don't need your complaining and Kayak Wailua doesn't need your bad reviews because you couldn't hack it. Otherwise, pack a lunch and have fun!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rickasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing