We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Webb!”
Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
Ranked #1 of 50 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uluwehi Waterfalls aka Secret Falls is now in full bloom. Blockages have been removed; the falls has never looked better! A boardwalk now covers the muddy ditch. Don't miss this amazing attraction which is fun and educational for your whole family from toddlers to seniors.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ask for Webb!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Wow, this was one of the best things we did on our stay on Kauai! Webb was our tourguide and he was fantastic! He grew up on Kauai and his love, enthusiasm and local knowledge was very evident. Webb was very very funny, he had a ton of knowledge about the flora & fauna of the area, the history of the islands and Kauai in particular. Did I mention he was funny? The kayak, hike and swimming at Secret Falls would have been neat, but Webb made it truly unique. He pointed out so many different plants, had stories, anecdotes and jokes about everything, he really made the tour great! You could just tell he had a love of what he was doing. Webb even promised us we were the best tour he had that day and we assured him he was the best tour guide we had that day (the guides only take one tour per day since it is roughly a 4 hour tour). The falls were amazing, the hike was cool and kayaking on the river was nice.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank eholo5yx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,954
    227
    44
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Webb, outstanding guide”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Webb was our guide for the kayaking, hiking, and waterfall tour. His enthusiasm and knowledge of the Hawaiian flora/fauna was terrific. Webb was able to share with us the Hawaiian traditions as we walked through the sacred forests of Kaua'i Wailua river. His most relaxed manner provided us with an "Aloha" experience of the highest calaber, safe, entertaining, and a sharing of the Hawaiian culture. Not the "run of the mill" tourist attraction. Of course, need to include the repertoire of jokes. Don't forget to ask Webb about the song writer, Larry Laprise who wrote the Hokey Pokey!! thanks Webb for a memorable experience. we had a fabulous time.
Danika very personable and well organized for registration, answering all the questions first time kayaking can bring to mind. thanks for your efforts to share Kaua'i with us.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience, GREAT value!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I did the "secret" falls kayak trip yesterday, and it was fantastic! Danika was our guide and was very knowledgeable about the local trees/plants/flowers...we stopped several times along both the kayak trip and hike as she described several in detail. Danika was also very attentive to all guests -- we had a pretty large group with varying levels if hiking/kayaking/swimming experience and she did a nice job of providing extra attention to those that needed it. From some of the other reviews I did pick up a few tips that did come in handy...1) bug spray (didn't get a single bite) 2) definitely wear shoes that are appropriate for what you are doing...ie, Tevas, Merrells, Keens (some type if good hiking sandal/shoe that can go in th water and take trails well (we wore merrells and had absolutely no issues at all) 3) pack a backpack in your dry bag --comes in very handy when hiking from the kayak to the falls 4) pay the extra 5$ per person for the highback seat -- definitely worth it (not sore today at all!) 5) plan on the trip likely taking longer than you expected -- we were go e about an hour longer than we planned -- with varying levels of folks kayaking experience, we waited several times for the rest of the group to catch up with us and we also spent about 45 mins at the falls 6) don't worry about the "crowds" -- there were others at the falls when we got there, but be/c we took the 9 AM tour (and they departed and arrived earlier than us), they left about 5-10 mi s after we arrived and we had the falls to ourselves 7) this is the BEST value for a guided tour with great experience and a great staff!

It was a great trip and we'd highly recommend it!! And if you're worried about fitness level don't be -- I'm 4 months pregnant and had no difficulties at all....you do need to be careful, as the trail is a bit narrow and can be muddy, but if you're alert and pay attention to what you're doing, you'll be fine.

Helpful?
Thank Whiting16804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome experience, great bang for the buck!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We very much enjoyed our half-day kayak trip and hike up the Wailua River to a beautiful waterfall. Our guide (unfortunately we can't remember her name) was incredible. She showed and explained everything from history to foliage along the way. It was worth every cent of the very affordable (approx. $50/person) fee!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I visited Kayak Wailua on the second day of our vacation. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and our reservation had been received with paperwork ready to be signed. Nate, our guide, was friendly and helpful as we went over the safety guidelines and the agenda for the day. He also gave us tips on how to get in the kayak and about steering. As we kayaked down the river, my husband and I marveled at the beauty of our surroundings. When we docked our kayaks we began our trek to the waterfall. Along the way Nate explained the different types of trees and flowers that we passed. We enjoyed lunch at the waterfall as well as a refreshing (cold!) swim. When we returned to Kayak Wailua, Nate gave us some other activity ideas such as the Awa'awa Puhi hiking trail (which was breathtakingly amazing) as well as places to get a bite to eat like the Mermaid Cafe (incredibly tasty food). Our overall experience at Kayak Wailua was nothing short of perfect and truly helped us to start our vacation in Kauai off right. Thanks for everything!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing