We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Value!”

Classic Vacation Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Classic Vacation Cottages
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Value!”
Reviewed February 12, 2008

As a frequent traveler to Kauai and Kalaheo (family lives here) I was so pleased to find this place. It is only two miles from my folks and only minutes from either Poipou or Salt Pond. It is tucked away from all the traffic and hustle and bustle of the crowded tourist spots and you just cannot beat the value! The proprieter is as friendly and helpful as they come. You just cannot go wrong if you choose Classic Vacation Cottages for your next stay on Kauai.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fishmanMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    1
    1
    18
See reviews for
22
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

I have stayed with Classic Vacation Cottages twice once in 2005 at the Poipu property and recently in the Garden View #2 suite in Kalaheo of Dec. 2007. Looking for something affordable and homey both times, I have been very pleased with my stays. Chris always makes you feel welcomed and makes sure that you have enough towels. Also, having access to his golf club collection and being close to a golf course was a real highlight of my most recent trip. I am already thinking about my next one.

  • Liked — Affordable and Comfortable
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeekSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

If you love Hawaii like we love Hawaii, then this is the place for you!!

We drove over to just check out the place and got a tour! Chris greeted us in the driveway and showed us all what was available. We quickly checked out of our noisy, hot over-priced "budget" hotel in Lihue and spent our last two night there at Chri's!! We should have s found this paradise earlier and saved over HALF of what the cheap hotel(hot plate as "kitchen") costs us! In stead of honking cars, people yelling and a noisy laundry room morning and night, our classic cottage came with the sweet sounds of colorful local birds and breezes thru the trees!!! Live Hawaiian-style, not a cheesy condo in Princeville! Comfortably lived-in cottages with a FULL KITCHEN!!!

Included are boogie boards, fins, snorkel/masks, umbrellas, and coolers for the beach! Come and go as you please, enjoy and peace out!!!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank snorkadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We have just returned from our Hawaiian vacation. We spent 6 great days on the island of Kauai. We were looking for a bed and breakfast and found a good alternative at the Classic Vacation Cottages. We were lucky enough to find a 3 bedroom, 1.5 bath house with everything we needed. It felt like we had our own vacation home because it was complete with all the amendities. Our host Chris was very friendly and helpful. He didn't hesitate to point us in the right direction no matter what we were looking for. He even told us about some other properties in the area when we asked about finding a place to stay closer to the beach for our next visit. If you're looking for a place that makes you feel like you're at home then we recommend Chris and the Classic Vacation Cottages.

  • Liked — it felt like a vacation home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank desertdweller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Unlike the other comments, I had horrible stay..
It might be just this room (next to car garage),, don't take this one for sure!!

Con:
-Smell- I don't know what kind of smell.. )Maybe mold?)
It was intolerable. It was really smelly and bad. I had to cover my nose all night and spray perfume. Next day I sprayed air freshner very frequently in the room.
-Cleanliness- It was not very clean at all.. The fan was dirty. The shower room was so tiny (Ive never seen!) and not clean look at all. The kitchen area was full of dead little bugs. I had to clean appliances by myself really good because it was soooo dirty!

Pro:
-Location: close to Poipu.(nice beach) about 7-10 min.
-Owner was friendly.
-You can borrow coolers, fins, chairs.. (but not good condition..
I had to wash cooler really good. I recommend to bring your mask and snorkel.)
-Price was affordable on island.. I think.

  • Disliked — Smell, Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalaheo hotels

tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

I stayed at Ohana House II for a couple of nights.
It was a large, comfortable cottage with reasonable price.
I had a great time there.

Their customer after care is also great... I left my cell phone at the cottage, and Chris's ( the cottage owner) help to get it back was greatly appreciated.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank poco_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

As a traveling professional, I frequently require accommodations that are reasonably priced, comfortable and in a good location. Due to a project I am working with on Kauai, I have been traveling extensively to the island and frequently need last minute help with finding a room. I was fortunate to discover Classic Vacation Cottages through the recommendation of a friend and have made it my exclusive destination on Kauai. The Kalaheo and Poipu locations are a tremendous help to me and I am able to get to my jobsites without having to stay in Lihue or Kapaa. The various rooms I have stayed in are quaint, clean and quiet.

When I took some time off, I stayed as a vacationer and was thrilled to have access to beach chairs, mats, coolers, and all types of water gear. It is also very helpful to be able to use the kitchenettes to avoid the huge expense of eating out. Staying at the cottages made it possible for me to have a fabulous time without breaking the bank!!!

Additionally, Chris is a sincerely wonderful person. He is very knowledgeable about his island and is the most patient and considerate person one can hope to meet. The cottages are a remarkable value and Chris is a fabulous host.

  • Liked — Price and Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Keala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaheo
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Vacation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Vacation Cottages

Property: Classic Vacation Cottages
Address: PO Box 901, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741-0901
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kalaheo
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Classic Vacation Cottages Kauai/Kalaheo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing