We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Good as in the past”
Review of Pomodoro - CLOSED

Pomodoro
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oregon, WI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as Good as in the past”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm not sure if we caught them on a bad night, but Pomodoro was always fun to go to as to the hostess, waiters were enjoyable and there was a cense of an all around family warm atmosphere. but this last time, we were just sent to a table. our waiter seemed distracted all night and even forgot some orders. Overall a disappointment as we took friends.

The food is still quite good but nothing special for the price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were headed back from a drive to waimea canyon and remembered that the ultimate guide book wrote that Pomodoro was the best Italian on the island, so we decided to stop. We were in shorts and a little concerned about being under dressed but upon arrival the owner welcomed us and said you are just fine, come in. The atmosphere was cozy and romantic even with our two kids in tow:) The food is unbelievable!! My husband actually said that the lasagne was the best he has ever had!! The service was just as amazing as the food!! They even had gluten free pasta for me!! I had the Alfredo with gluten free noodles and it was wonderful!!! Also, their wine list was was diverse with a lovely Chilean Cabernet that was so smooth. The owner was working and constantly checking on everyone to make sure that the meal and service was good. There is a reason they are the number one Italian on the island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momtotwolilmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian food on the island with reasonable prices too!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife, son and I went here for dinner. We've been to Kauai several times and never ate here before. Boy did we miss out. By far, the best Italian food we've had on Kauai. The sauces were tasty, the pasta "al dente" and the bread warm and fresh. All served with true Aloha from our server.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cerra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not real Italian at all!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm really disappointed of this Italian restaurant. I know to be in Hawaii and far away from Italy, but I'm sorry to say the people running the business know nothing about Italian food, passion and love. Don't go if you want to eat real Italian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antodino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a small Italian restaurant upstairs in a small mall (Pizza hut is down stairs). Decent parking, good service, excellent wine list, very good food, a pleasant server. Jerri the was from northern NJ 35 years ago and can still make a fine meat sauce.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing