We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal on a comfortable, quiet place to stay”
Review of Hale Ikena Nui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ikena Nui
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We spent 4 nights in the upstairs bedroom in the house, a comfortable, spacious room with a private bath. Patti is a very accommodating host; breakfast was always laid out for when we wanted it, we had use of all facilities (kitchen, laundry, etc), borrowed a cooler, and so on. She even invited us to dinner with her friends one night, but our plans for hiking in Waimea Canyon that day interfered. Location is in a quiet, residential neighborhood so even with a little of the ubiquitous rooster noise, we slept very well in that comfortable bed. It was only a few minutes off the highway to go wherever you want on the south and west shores, though on a future trip we might want to stay a night or two on the North Shore as well, because it's a bit longer of a drive to that part of the island and there's so much there. There is wireless internet throughout the house, and our cell phones worked fine there. The house has a wonderful view of the water, and is a place we felt right at home and free to come and go and enjoy our vacation. Patti was happy to answer all our questions and was very friendly, but never intrusive. She shares her lovely home with guests and makes them feel right at home. We highly recommend Hale Ikena Nui.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hale Ikena Nui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in January 2010 for 8 nights. The place was fairly easy to find with a GPS, although it is pretty far away from the main highway. It is about 20 minutes away from Lihue (if there is no traffic). We stayed in the "residence facility", which is a guest bedroom with its own bathroom. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated, although some items hanging on the wall could definitely use more dusting. The owner, Patti, was very nice and accommodating, always willing to share her insight about local places, events, and activities. The breakfast consisted of tea/coffee, English muffins, and fruit, but Patti welcomed us to use her kitchen to cook whatever we wanted. Since we drove to a different place on the island pretty much every day, we didn't mind that there were no beaches or anything else worth seeing/doing within a close distance.

Since we always try to stay away from large hotels and especially overpriced and overcrowded resorts, both my wife and I were very glad we selected this place over other BnB's or vacation rentals.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

For us the location was perfect. It is approx. 15 minutes from Poipu beach which has a very nice Beach Park. The weather seemed to be much better than on the Lihue/Hanalei side. The house is a bit dated, but quite nice. We stayed in the appartment downstairs. It was not perfectly clean, especially the kitchen. We have not seen the owner often as she did not speak a lot with us. We sometimes felt she tried to avoid us... However, the dog is very friendly and the price is quite ok.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

we had such a great time here. It was SO clean and so private. The owner Patti was very nice and helpful.
We loved it there so much. :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neda_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

After several days at Kauai's North shore, we moved down to the South shore. We had felt very comfy up in the North so we did not expect that it could become even better. But at Patti, everything was just perfect. We had a huge room with a private bath and shared living room and kitchen and lanai and... with Patti. Breakfast was delicious and talking to her very nice, including many useful hints! We even got invited for new year's eve dinner with a long term family recipe..... wow. just an outstanding place in a very quite neighbourhood, spectacular views from inside the house and the lanai. We felt at home. The only thing way below average..... the price!!! A big recommendation. If we will ever go back to Kauai (we do hope a lot), we will go back to Patti!
Servus!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lesulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Unfortunately we stayed only one night at his wonderful place. The setting is fantastic, with a great ocean-view from the very big lanai. Due to the very good description that we got by email before, we did find the place very easily.
We were placed in a private room (with a private bath) within the private living area of Patti, who is the wonderful host. She had some family-members around, who stayed at her´s at the same time. When we arrived, they were cooking a fantastic meal and they invited us for dinner. Unfortunately we just had some (mean) sandwiches outside, so we were not hungry. Anyway, we just felt like visiting afriend.
The house is typically hawaiian and the interior is an absolute proof of excellent flavor. As european travellers, we didn`t expect to find such a sophisticated interior in an american b&b (please don´t blame us for this prejudice, but we have actually seen so many of (cheesy) american b&b´s, and anyway, what we intend to express, is that this b&b is very private and very special).
So all in all, we are sorry that we didn´t stay longer, as Kauai is very small and it really doesn´t matter where on the island you stay. You can reach every part of the island within an hour. And Patti is so cool...!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank don_narkoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

It was not easy to find, but once there, I was treated to a fantastic view of the ocean from a hillside home. The first night, I had the large room with sliders opening to the deck and ocean view. Then I was moved to a smaller room which was also nice but the only windows were with moveable wooden shutters through which you could feel the tradewinds and hear the birds singing and the roosters crowing. I was invited, along with another couple, to join the owner's dinner party one night and met her friends, who are all guides at Allerton Gardens. One man volunteered to take me on a 4 wheel drive to a secret cave the next day. He also gave me lots of Kauai information, general, and plant-wise. Bear, the little dog, is everyone's friend, and loves to share his toys with guests. There are no locks on the room doors, as you often find this easy attutude in B&B's.Lots of fresh local fruit for breakfast. Owner is very accomodating.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DelawareToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaheo
3.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
11.2 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
3.7 mi away
Whalers Cove Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ikena Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ikena Nui

Address: 3957 Ulu Alii St, P.O. Box 171, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Price Range: $75 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Same address/ownder as Hale Hoku. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ikena Nui Kauai/Kalaheo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing