We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty noisy for paradise.”
Review of Hale Ikena Nui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ikena Nui
Ranked #1 of 2 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not our first time in Kauai but last time at Hale Ikena Nui. Quickly speaking, the problem is it's noisy with animals (dog barks a lot), the owner upstairs who is up SUPER EARLY - much stomping. Thin callings and thin bathroom doors. Cows and donkeys next door. Sort of like a farm. And also not exactly friendly vibe. Really surprised since so many good reviews. Perhaps it's different if you stay in the main suite downstairs. Pity since location pretty convenient - but you need a car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KauaiPatti, Owner at Hale Ikena Nui, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

I have had a vacation/rental bed and breakfast on Kauai since 1995. I have always enjoyed having people visit me from all over the world and have always had a positive experience. I have repeat guests who have stayed with me for years and they continue to book yearly. My home is in a very quiet neighborhood on a small cul de sac. My street ends at my neighbor's 35 acre ranch. They pasture a few cows, a couple of mules and horses. Most of my guests enjoy watching the livestock and sometimes like to present the mules and horses with treats such as carrots, apples, etc. This is the second revie presented by the same couple who stayed with me in May. I only wish they had mentioned their displeasure during the 27 days they stayed with me. I would have gladly assisted them in finding a place more suitable to their many needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay, excellent value for money, very comfortable and has great views overlooking the pacific. The owner, Patti, is really nice and bear the dog is adorable, and I was made to feel at home. It provides great accessibility for the island, especially for the South and West. I stayed here as it was close to Waimea Canyon. I would certainly return to Patti and Bear's place if I was to return to Kauai and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kauai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siethetitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's located in a quiet and scenic neighborhood. Our host invited us upstairs for dinner and from her patio is an amazing ocean view. She is very welcoming and provided a comfortable and relaxing environment. I am eager to return and would recommend this B&B for anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imawongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a lovely stay we had at Patti’s house, located at the end of a quiet street, with a large terrace from where we can see the ocean.

Delicious papaya at breakfast, lovely welcoming and discrete host, and a large cozy bedroom.

If we go back to Hawaii we will certainly go to Hale Ikena Nui again.

Emy and Chris (Canada)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilie155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I recently stayed several nights at Patti Pantone's home and it was nicer and more spacious than we expected and the surrounding neighborhood is partly open space pasture. It is beautiful. Her dog Bear is an absolute delight. She had some of her neighbors over for happy hour one night and we really appreciated getting a local's perspective on Kauai.

Room Tip: Downstairs studio is huge and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brrronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've never written a review and it saddens us to be so negative but this is a shockingly poor value place to stay. We're from Montreal and have traveled extensively for many years. There are multiple problems with Patti's residence. Briefly:
1) Very Noisy. Her dog barks all the time (incl. early morning/late at nite). Patti does nothing to stop this misbehaviour.
2) The farm next door (not mentioned in her ad) has animals such as cows/donkeys that are loud throughout the night. So expect no sleep for anyone staying on those frequent noisy nites.
3) Patti ignores these problems by saying "she cannot hear anything". Perhaps it's to do with her poor hearing physically speaking, yet she did not attempt to correct the problems.
4) Patti gets up at 5:30 am every morning and is not quiet about it.

So in essence, noisy and deceitful on the part of Ms. Pantone about how loud her rental is.

NOT RECOMMENDED at any rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJayJajy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I only stayed one night at Patti's house, as I was on Kauai for a short work trip. But I had a great experience staying in her main-floor guest room. I arrived later in the evening pretty tired after a long day of work and travel, and Patti was very accommodating, made me feel at home and didn't mind that I turned in almost immediately. The next day, I was glad to get to spend a little more time chatting with her and playing with Bear. She knows Kauai well and had good tips for things to do when I make it back. She also shared some delicious mangoes from her tree, and the view from her place is just gorgeous.

The room itself was very spacious, private and comfortable. It was a little stuffy when I first arrived, as there is no AC, but after I turned on the ceiling fan, it was fine. There are some over-eager roosters in the area who woke me up a few times, but based on all the roosters I saw around the island, that would be an issue just about anywhere.

My one mistake was flying in at night. Patti's directions from Lihue were very clear, and it's just a couple of turns off the main highway, but it's a pretty dark drive at night with few streetlights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahInIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaheo
13.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,396 reviews
21.6 mi away
Makai Club Resort
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hale Puka 'Ana
Hale Puka 'Ana
#1 of 1 in Kekaha
129 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
10.1 mi away
Inn Waimea
Inn Waimea
#1 of 2 in Waimea
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ikena Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ikena Nui

Address: 3957 Ulu Alii St, P.O. Box 171, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741-9727
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Price Range: $75 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Same address/ownder as Hale Hoku. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ikena Nui Kauai/Kalaheo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing