We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great for the budget minded...studios open immediately” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation

Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation
Save
You added Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 7 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Walton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great for the budget minded...studios open immediately”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

I'm just in the process of leaving Aloha Estates....we had the absolute pleasure of staying here since Oct 22nd...the place is charming, quiet and affordable. Our host James was wonderful and friendly, always willing to please, The yard is a tropical garden. The location is safe and very conveniently located...and t's near the safest beach on the island...find out more from my frugal travel blog renestravels.wordpress.com

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank renehalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

we stayed there for one week at the blue ginger room, the room met our needs, it had an refigerator, a microwave and a ceiling fan.
the neighborhood was very quite (altough the neighbors were chatting every morning and evening)
the room was quite packed with a large couch, a table w 2 chairs, a wardrobe and a TV.
everythings looks "worn with use", but the kingsize bed was very awesome because it was very soft and comfortable.
the bathroom wasn´t very clean, we didn´t feel comfortable.
one time we ran out of toiletpaper, but it was replaced on the same day as we came back in the evening.

The host was very friendly and helpful!!

I would not recommend this hostel to people who like to go to the beach, because they are not nearby.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niobe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

I stayed in a large one bedroom suite w/attached kitchen. The bath was not clean when I arrived and I had to do it myself! There was also a significant amount of garbage in the kitchen. The Innkeeper though was quite friendly though often unavailable. All paper supplies were minimal and rapidly ran out. The place is located in a quiet neighborhood where theft does not seem to be a problem. This is a good place if you don't mind some dirt and grime. It is cheap and sweet.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalaheo hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

I stayed for a week and it was a really nice place. The owner was friendly and the room met my needs. I stayed in the gardenia room. It was quiet with light tradewind breezes. What I liked was that this house was in a safe, quiet town. Doors had combination locks, so you didn't need to carry a key. That was really nice. The only problem was that they didn't restock toilet tissue. I had to buy some at a store. Bring your own TP to be safe.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

OK So we are back...had a great trip.As far as the place...it was fine for us.If you are looking for affordable accommodations this is a good deal.We stayed upstairs in the Orchid apt.It is a bit worn...the appliances are old but it was clean and freshly painted (other than the kitchen cabinets for some odd reason)It consists of a good sized bedroom with a comfortable queen bed and 2 twin beds..just the 2 of us stayed there and were plenty comfortable..a seperate kitchen and bathroom(kinda startled as when you first enter the apt it's through the bathroom..however there are doors that seperate it from the apt.It also has a covered lanai...the owner James is super nice and 9 nights cost a total of $670..we think it 's a great deal...if you're looking for pampered and need a maid don't go here...if you want a place to sleep, prepare your meals and enjoy the beauty of the island it makes a good base camp...hope this helps some of the budget minded out there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2005

Was sorry I didn't find this place earlier! Older home that has been renovated with local charm, clean and quiet. Rooms had frig, coffee pot, toaster oven and other kitchen conveniences. Location was near town but quiet off street parking. Enjoyed the homey feeling and friendly cat Moana. Reasonably priced - best bargain around the island! I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

What a funky place! There were two curtains in doorways from the kitchen. One led to the bathroom sink and shower and the other to the toilet! Not even a solid door between the toilet and the kitchen! We really did not like the "aroma therapy" as we tried to eat. Lots of wild checkens crowing at all hours and lots of traffic on the busy street. Stay away if you want a vacation!

Helpful?
30 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaheo
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation

Property: Aloha Estates at Kalaheo Plantation
Address: 4579 Puuwai Rd, P.O. Box 872, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741-8300
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aloha Estates At Kalaheo Plantation Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing