We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to learn another culture.”

Lawai International Center
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Kalaheo
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to learn another culture.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Discovered this through a friend. What a magnificent job they did restoring the whole grounds. The temple made without any nails is outstanding. All the prayer stations on the hill are spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwipeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lawai International a place to learn about the culture”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A wonderful beautiful sight. Love to learn about Japanese culture. The building was spectacular. No nails used in building it. The prayer stations & land around there all restored to its beauty!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
168 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beautiful area, but I wandered upon it to find out it was closed. They let me take a few pictures, then I left. Would have been great to actually be told some of the history of it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“88 Shrines”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

When we asked our activity director what she would recommend seeing outside the norm, she recommended 88 Shrines. These are miniature shrines built by Japanese immigrants in 1904 to represent an ancient pilgrimage of 88 temples in Shikoku, Japan. This is a place of healing & sanctuary. Lynn, the Director, was very generous in allowing our families to tour this site on a day they are not normally open. She greeted us with hot tea & macadamia cookies as well as a presentation. Her attention to detail allowed our families to recognize how special this site was. Add this to your must see list. This site is run by a non-profit organization & volunteers who are devoted to restoring this property. When we left, I felt a renewed sense of peace. Gods Blessings for continued growth.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Schopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Zen Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lawai International Center, a non-profit community project, is an archaeological and cultural treasure in a valley that has long been recognized as a healing sanctuary. In 1904 the first generation of Japanese immigrants built 88 shrines replicating an ancient pilgrimage of 88 temples in Shikoku, Japan. Today, it is the only such site existing outside of Japan and is one of the oldest Buddhist temple sites in the country. Visitors are able to walk along all of the shrines. Each shrines are decorated differently. Visitors will feel peaceful at this sanctuary. A temple has been recently built on the property. Materials were brought in from Asia.
This is a true cultural place. This is a must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dimsumgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawai International Center also viewed

 

Been to Lawai International Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing