We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, cultural night-local galleries”

Hanapepe Friday Night Festival & Art Walk
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Hanapepe
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, cultural night-local galleries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Every Friday night in the little town of Hanapepe on the south side of Kauai is Art Night. Most of the galleries are open and there are street vendors as well. The quality of the art is good and there is a great variety. Refreshments abound and restaurants as well as food trucks are open. Even the taro chip factory is open and well worth a visit. This was such a fun event. As we wandered from gallery to gallery, we enjoyed the fresh air and flowers. Everyone was very friendly and there was a feeling of joy and celebration. What a great tradition, I hope this continues.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    87
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
355 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful island experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Every Friday night in Hanapepe they keep open all of the shops and restaurants from 6-9pm. There are loads of locals and tourists wandering around the galleries and listening to live music. There are a lot of food trucks and a wonderful variety of food choices. It is so much fun to feel that you are part of the community. Everyone is friendly, welcoming and happy. Enjoy....

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice evening of art,food and music--fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

It had been several years since we attended the Friday Night Art Walk in Hanapepe and we were surprised and glad it has grown. Under a full moon this week (March 15th), there was a good crowd checking out the artists, shops, restaurants and music--lots of fun. We can recommend the sushi cabin for a nice appetizer while walking about. There is a little of everything in the town including vintage and authentic Hawaiian clothing and some great art by local and nationally known artists. The Koa wood store has some amazing and beautiful pieces in it and the owner couldn't have been a nicer man in answering questions about the origins of koa and his work. Fun night!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level Contributor
235 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice evening of shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

A nice place to pick up gifts for the folks back home. Picked up a variety of Island spices and chocolate. Almost bought a photograph from one of the many galleries. Had a tasty dinner at Bobbie's.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleomissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice art night in Hanapepe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We did a NaPali Coast tour with Captain Andy's on the Friday of our trip, so it worked out perfectly to go to art night after. We parked in town and spent about an hour. They have some really nice art, but also affordable jewelry which my wife and daughter took advantage of. Great event!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Archited2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanapepe Friday Night Festival & Art Walk also viewed

 

Been to Hanapepe Friday Night Festival & Art Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing