We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tubing Adventure Alot of fun!”

Kauai Backcountry Adventures
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Hanamaulu
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tubing guide was soooo friendly (nate) and he kept the whole drive interesting with his stories and very willing to give pointers on places to eat and stay on the island. He was also knowledgable about the sites (mountain name and reasons). The arrival and departure at the company was quick so that you werent waiting around to go. Tubing itself was easy to do, the surroundings were very beautiful. the tunnels were very cool! sparkling microbes on the ceiling of the tunnel! Guides were funny when inside the tunnel. Only one recommendation is that myself and my boyfriend do not believe the tubing itself was worth $100...maybe $80 max but it was still overall great! You get lunch at the end as well.

Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Aloha Heather G. I will pass on the great feedback to Braddha Nate. He knows his stuff when it comes to the grindz on the island. As for our prices you would not believe the overhead it takes to run this tour. The great news is even with all of our overhead going up the last 4 years we have not increased our prices and we have no plans to. If you come back and see us we do have a returning guest discount Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mountain tubing"
in 322 reviews
"irrigation canals"
in 177 reviews
"tubing experience"
in 183 reviews
"tube ride"
in 151 reviews
"irrigation ditch"
in 78 reviews
"sugar plantation"
in 195 reviews
"all ages"
in 307 reviews
"great fun"
in 302 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 326 reviews
"unique experience"
in 169 reviews
"fun adventure"
in 140 reviews
"picnic area"
in 104 reviews
"whole family"
in 174 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 129 reviews
"cookies"
in 199 reviews
"water shoes"
in 112 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 114 reviews
Filter

6,567 - 6,571 of 6,906 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having been on the tubing adventure in the past, we were anxious to take a new visitor on the tour. We made reservations for the last day of our stay in Kauai but were trapped behind an accident that closed the roadway out of the area where we were staying. When it became obvious there was no way to get to the tour on time we called the operators and were given a full refund (w/in 24 hours!). This was far better than their printed policy, especially since the delay was not their fault. My only regret was that we did not have time to reschedule...honest, fair, and friendly.

The revious excursion was absolutely fantastic...highly recommended.

1  Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Aloha Terry O. Our traffic jams can be very frustrating, very sorry that you folks did not make it. Thank you for the feedback, not being able to get here was not your fault so we felt like you should not be punished for something out of your control. Come on back and see us next trip just don't wait until your last day to go out with us, you never know what might happen on this tiny island Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We did the tubing adventure and it was lots of fun. The water is brisk but not cold and the tubes move at a good clip through the canals. The other people make it fun too and we had a good group. The driver and guide were good and knew their stuff.

1  Thank 2KauaiGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Aloha BostonTravellers, Glad you folks had a great time. We will have to add brisk to our repertoire of descriptions, along with refreshing and life changing, for the temperature of our water. Boston Strong Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have gone on the The Mountain Tubing Adventure 2 times when I visited Kauai. Its lots of fun and the tour guides are great. Going through the tunnels with only a little light on your helmet as the only light you have is a neat experience also. Then when its all over you to have a lunch and go swimming in a pond in a little picnic area.

The next time I get to Kauai I also would like to try the Kauai Backcountry Adventures zip lines.

Kauai Backcountry Adventures also used to have quads you could rent but they no longer offer that.

But everytime I go to Kauai you can bet Kauai Backcountry Adventures will be part of my vacation.

1  Thank TonyYak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha TonyYak thanks for the great review we have a lot of regulars that come back year after year so definitely come back and try our zipline, and who knows by your next trip we may have some new tours to offer Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took a morning zipline trip and had a blast. Our tour guides (whose names are escaping me...may have been Zack & Tim) were so much fun. They were serious about the safety of the trip but extremely engaging and entertaining. The location of the ziplines was breathtakingly beautiful. There was little to no walking in between lines as you go back and forth across a valley until you get to the bottom. There was a light mist--which is normal for that area--but it didn't matter because of the beautiful surroundings. Lunch consisted of ingredients to make your own sandwich--which included a variety of fresh veggies--chips, and cookies. Better than what I had expected for a trip as such. I highly recommend this tour!

1  Thank nyindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Aloha nyindel I will let Zach and Tim know how much fun you all had. The lack of hiking and our incredible views are definitely highlights of our course. Come back and go Mountain Tubing with us on your next trip to Kauai Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Backcountry Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Backcountry Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing