We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backcountry”

Kauai Backcountry Adventures
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hanamaulu
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Love these guys & girls! They know a ton of stuff about the island and the people.They really make the zipline tours and tubing fun for the whole family, even if you have a hesitant participant. The scenery is fantastic and you get to see a lot of the island that you wouldn't otherwise.

Thank MelisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

MelisBD, Great summary, short sweet and to the point. Thank you for the kind words and please come back and see us your next trip. Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,749)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Backcountry Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,419 - 5,423 of 5,749 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Our guides were not only informative and polite, they were patient and fun. - not to mention good looking.

This is a "not to miss" adventure! It took no effort. They put you in the tube, you float and they take you out of the tube.

Lunch was provided. Good food tutkey sandwich with all the toppings needed and great cookies

Thank Janine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Well Aloha Janine49, Please let me know who your guides were so I can give them a bonus. We try and please everyone, glad you all had a great time and happy you enjoyed the "scenery". Please come back and see us. Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went Mountain Tubing and this company is great, the tour guides are fun, the drive up the mountain to the former sugar plantation was very bumpy in the van but we were prepared for it. When we entered the 'ditch' in our inner tubes the water was "refreshing" and the sun was shining. It is like a lazy river ride but with greater scenery as we float through five dark tunnels and the water gets quicker at some points. Our guides were excellent in telling us of the history of the trail as well as shouting out directions for our total safety. We had a great time and enjoyed a wonderful lunch at the end before riding back down the mountain to their home base.

1  Thank karenjerry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Aloha Karenjerry2011, It sounds like you all had a great day "tubing da ditch" come back and see us and take advantage of our returning guest discount. See you in da ditch.--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went Ziplining with Allen and Chris as our tour guides and had a blast! This was our first time and they explained everything in great detail as far as safety and technique. They were very entertaining also! Cool guys! They gave great island advice/ stories. We had so much fun we wanted to hike back up the mountain to do it all again!

Thank Pashley2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Aloha Pashley2nc,

I will be sure and pass along the "Awesome" feedback to Alan and Chris. They are 2 of our best. Glad you folks had a great time and come back and try our tubing next trip. Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I recently did the tubing adventure and really enjoyed it. The guides were very friendly and entertaining and helped make the overall experience more enjoyable. The whole concept of the tubing adventure is just incredibly unique and not something that you can just do anywhere.

The guides supply you with a hard hat and gloves to ensure your head and hands don't get scrapped up primarily when you go through the tunnels. The water temperature obviously isn't going to be warm, but I am very sensitive to cold temperatures and didnt find the water to be that cold or uncomfortable.

Just keep in mind that this isn't some crazy, thrill seeking adventure. There were a few very small rapid areas which picked up speed a little bit, but if you are adventure seeking, than this probably isn't the tour for you. But it is great for people looking do to something different or great for families.

1  Thank Jenny281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, General Manager at Kauai Backcountry Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha Jenny281, I loved your description of our activity. We do try and not over sell the Mountain Tubing Adventure as a white water rapids trip and your description will be very helpful in getting that across to folks. It s very unique and there is no other tour like this. Please come back out and see us your next trip Mahalo--Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Backcountry Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Backcountry Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing