We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 2nd choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Taco

Tropical Taco
Ranked #21 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 2nd choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very good fish tacos! Service was terrific! Had planned to go to Ono 360, or something close to that, however, he is now only doing catering!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    131
    77
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panacea, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic but Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were hungry and wanted to get out of the rain, so we came here for shelter and had a satisfying and inexpensive lunch, almost serve-yourself sort of place. The tacos were generous and sloppy good. This is an open air but covered spot in a little wooden, traditional veranda style complex of small shops, and the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrC-Silt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good fish taco stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

While in Hawaii do the taco stands and we do whenever we find them. We had it grilled which we think is better than deep fried. You get two and if you eat both late in the afternoon, you will not have room for dinner. Good sauce and fillings. In Kauai, I rand this #2 on mu lust with the taco Stan in Waialia bay #1 and only because of what they put in the shell other than fish. Well worth a try

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a great, quick stop. The food exceeded expectations and the service was wonderful! We'll be back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad timing?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were just looking for a quick fish taco for dinner, nothing fancy. Unfortunately, a large party ordered before us and the wait seemed like forever. The owner? Was super nice and explained all his help had just left for college so he was a one man band taking orders and cooking. Food was ok but no better than what you can find cheaper in so cal. I would give them another chance, probably just bad timing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Taco also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing