We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanalei Colony Resort
Nearby Hotels
$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$421
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$524
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$380
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
372
152
53
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
152
53
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcoffee shoppool areapremium oceanfrontshuttle servicenorth shoremediterranean gourmetone lane bridgestunnels beachthe kitchenrestaurant next doorfront officefree shuttleget away from it allsewer smellon site restaurantart gallery
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 603 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have never been as relaxed as I was while staying at HCR. I stayed with 2 friends and we had a wonderful time, we could have stayed forever. It IS a bit of a trek from the airport and Lihue but don't let this deter you. It is isolated, but that's part of the beauty of the place. Hire a car and go exploring. You won't regret it, you'll come across some of the most beautiful scenery you've ever seen.
HCR has an amazing concierge, Stephen and he is one of the friendliest and most helpful people we came across on our entire trip. He made some fantastic suggestions for places we should check out and went above and beyond to make sure we had the best time. I can't say enough good things about Stephen, he was a delight!
The rooms are clean and very comfortable, like a home away from home. Oh, and you won't miss having a television or phone at all because the area is so pretty. We spent most evenings on the balcony, watching the sunset and having a glass of wine. It was exactly the getaway we had imagined.
I can't imagine anyone leaving here without having a wonderful time. A great experience overall. Go here. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mafugn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at HCR for 3 nights of our 10 night trip to Kauai. I'm glad we waited until the end of the trip to stay here or else we would have never stayed anywhere else. Large deck off the room with beautiful sunsets over the ocean. No A/C, no worries. The ocean breeze through the openly designed rooms with ceiling fans keeps the place at just the right temperature. Convenient kitchen and great layout of the room. Service was great and the facility is in tip top shape. Thank you HCR.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a special part of the world and the Colony fits in well. It is the perfect place to escape and unwind. No TV or phone is perfect for a part of the world that is so relaxed and calm. Services are good. Rooms clean, great beach. Staff are very friendly and helpful in assisting with tours and activities. There is a shuttle service to town, but a car is really a necessity on this island. We had a great stay here and will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeofCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When booking, we struggled to decide between the Princeville resort and Hanalei Colony. So glad we chose Hanalei! The high points:

• Service: Spectacular. We had a beachfront couples’ massage booked when we arrived and we’re cutting it close on time. The front desk staff could not have been more accommodating – quickly getting us checked in with keys and the essentials and letting us know we could come back for the full lowdown on the place and amenities when we got back from the spa. They provided all the information we needed (including a free loaner copy of a Kauai guidebook); made sure we had fresh towels, free wifi (for last minute activity bookings), and complimentary Mai Tais. What more could you ask for?
• Room: The first thing to say about our condo (J4) was of course, THE VIEW! Truly a breathtaking 180 degree view of Hanalei bay. Waking up to the ocean, clouds, and sunrise is truly an awe-inspiring experience. In terms of function, the place was spacious, with comfortable, tropical furnishings and a convenient kitchen – nothing fancy, but well-kept and clean. The lack of AC was never an issue (and this is in August/September). For one, we were never in the room during the hottest times of the day and for two, the cross winds blowing through the place were more than ample to keep it cool. I even had to pull the covers over my shoulders at night to keep from getting chilled! The resort/complex itself is low-key and unassuming, which allows you to focus on all of the mind-blowing natural beauty surrounding the property.
• Location: Perfect. True you need a car (or the resort’s shuttle) to get around, but it’s a small price to pay to be able to soak in the natural surroundings and sheer gorgeousness that is the North Shore of Kauai. Probably the most exotic, lush, and tropical location you can find inside the US.
• Spa*: Not a great first impression. Other than a small bathroom behind the front desk, there is nowhere to shower/change/store belongings and we were not provided with a robe – not what I’m used to with a spa. They were also running a little behind schedule (like 15 minutes) and we were not offered water (until after our services were complete). The spa itself was nothing to write home about – a little run down and dingy feeling. HOWEVER, that didn’t matter one bit since our services took place under a private beach hut on a grassy point overlooking the water. Temperature was perfect with calming and cool ocean breezes. The massage itself was one of the best I’ve ever had (and I’ve had A LOT) – Christopher used a wonderful blend of deep tissue and lomi lomi techniques that put me into a serious relaxation trance. *Disclaimer: Though on the same property, I don’t think the spa is owned by the resort.

Tips
• Book J4 – 2nd floor, ocean front, corner unit as far away from parking as you can get
• Stop at the Foodland in Princeville on your way in to pick up some essentials for the room (breakfast stuff, fruit, beer)
• Book a beachfront massage with Christopher when you arrive – puts you right into a relaxed, vacation state of mind

Room Tip: Book J4 – 2nd floor, ocean front, corner unit as far away from parking as you can get
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We unwind and let down like pros when we come here. We always return; sometimes with friends and sometimes with kids and grandkids. We like the unpretentious slightly retro decor. It is amazing that they can keep the resort maintained with the place being licked by the ocean and salty air during storms. The kitchens are great for not having to eat out every night. With that said, the on site retaurant is excellent. The setting of the oceanfront rooms is the most beautiful of any other resort in the world. We just sit on the lanai and watch the ocean. Can't wait for our next trip back.

Room Tip: Must choose ocean front. So worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallroad119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews