We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our second trip to Hanalei and our first stay at The Surf board House. Having stayed in a number of different places in Hanalei I can safely say with out hesitation this is the best.

Location - just steps away from the idealic dream scape that is Hanalei Bay. Walking distance to the charming town center, shopping, eating, post office and farmers markets. Some of the best hikes just minuets away. And if you want to hang out on the hill over looking the bay you are just a short ride from Princeville.

The Grounds- Simon has designed and planted the perfect garden with every flower and plant. The layout has been carefully made to offer every unit absolute privacy while still giving lots of room. There are also outdoor showers and little nick-nacks of interest. Totally creative and beautiful.

The Units- we stayed in the famed "Love Shack" for 3 nights and the Cow Girl suite for 10. Again, every part of the decoration and layout has been designed with painstaking detail. It would be impossible to describe with any justice to the rooms, let's just say they are unique, comfortable, spotlessly clean and fun.

Simon- no review is complete with out mentioning the inn keeper! The charm, design and attention to every detail comes from Simons passion for excellence. Starting life as a record exec I am sure he never thought this is where he would end up. A story that is better told over cold beer I am sure :) no mater how he got here he has become the perfect host. Giving privacy at all times but around if needed. The personal touch he puts into his business is very much appreciated and his success is well deserved and we wish him well. Until next time.

Aloha Simon,

Liz & Gary

Living The Dream Kauai

Room Tip: The cow girl and Elvis are great as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caymanltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is our third visit in four years to the Loveshack. There is little I can add at this point to the volume of positive reviews posted here. All I can add comes from the longer view of repeat visits. This property continues to sustain the excellence we were first enamored with almost five years ago. Every detail is tended to, cleanliness is exceptional, the grounds of the property immaculate (with even more varieties and volume of plant life than before), and of course, it's location along Hanalei Bay remains one of the best island destinations in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flg-voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a week long stay in the Cowgirl room and found it a relaxing, no-hassle, fun place to hang out. This was our first trip to Kauai and we wanted to stay in one place while exploring the island.

The Surfboard House is located just one block from Hanalei Bay, which is a wonderful walking beach. We went out every morning and evening to take long walks from the life guard shack to the pier and back. It was always beautiful (much prettier than the Descendants movie, if you can believe it). A lot of beaches on Kauai are lovely, but the sand is hard to walk on because it 'gives' too much (Tunnels beach is one example). It was great to have this walking beach right where we were staying.

The Cowgirl room is great for all the conveniences. We had a refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, gas grill, and washer/dryer (no stove). This made it very easy for us to eat meals like breakfast and lunch without having to go out to restaurants every time we wanted something to eat. There is a nice grocery store in Hanalei which was not nearly as expensive as i had expected, so we bought apples and sandwich makings and saved our meals out for evenings. It was great to have the laundry facility to keep our favorite clothes clean. We ended up not needing a lot of the clothes we packed (tip: don't overpack....you don't need much beyond shorts, swim suits, flip flops, and tank and t-shirts).

We loved the shower so much that I want to design my bathroom like this. There is a dual headed shower with a nice open design and a non-slip floor that was wonderful to come back to after a day at the beach.

Simon spent just enough time with us. He gave us several suggestions, told us where to park at Tunnels, who to book for the Na Pali coast tour (Na Pali Catamaran). We saw him enough to feel looked after, but for the most part, this was a very private stay. Some inns like this have a little too much involvement from the owner, but Simon checked in a few times in the early days, then left us alone, which was just right.

For fun things to do, make sure you go to Tunnels for snorkeling. Sit in the shade under the trees and you can stay longer. Buy a surfer shirt to keep yourself warm (the water is cold, but the fish are beautiful). Since we are from the east coast we found that it worked well to go early before the crowds show up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

...the "love" part, not "shack".

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary with a week at the Love Shack, a very private hotel room (in a separate building) on the grounds of the Hanalei Surfboard House. We wanted a different Hawaii experience from the big hotel/condo/golf course that could be anywhere and Love Shack exceeded our expectations. We LOVED:

- The room: thoughtfully decorated (the owner has stayed in nice hotels around the world and knows how to prioritize a hotel room: awesome bed, awesome shower, spotlessly clean, great technology, appropriate decor).

- The Host: Simon is very accomodating, engaging, and knows how to make you feel welcome. Drop his name anywhere in town and you get a smile and extra special service.

- The Location: steps to the nicest beach in Kauai, short walk/bike/drive to town of Hanalei. Hanalei has a casual, beachy vibe and also a few good restaurants, shops etc. Not too touristy, not too rustic. Just right.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Simon's amazing attention to detail shows in his decorating of the Love Shack at the Hanalei Surfboard House. . .we enjoyed the vintage Hawaiian decor, the outdoor shower, private patio, amazing sound system, and easy walking access to both the beach and town. We were introduced to new fruits from the local farmer's market, and rinsed the sand off each day with shampoo and conditioner made right on the island! Simon made great recommendations for food and local attractions. . .he introduced us to Evan, a local and professional surfer, and we had an awesome day of standup paddle boarding.

We enjoyed having this wonderful sanctuary to go back to each day after long hikes, swims in the ocean, and island exploration. Truly a gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My (now) wife and I recent lodged at the Hanalei Surfboard house. I can safely say the stay at the Surfboard house made our trip and immediately sparked conversation of future stays. Simon is a consummate host. Upon arrival, with our names presented on a sign, Simon gave us a gift certificate to Baracuda (great tapas) that my sister-in-law had purchased for us. Apparently my sister-in-law had contacted Simon previous to our arrival and upon Simon's recommendation she arranged a dinner for us. Simon took it upon himself to obtain the gift certificate for us and even suggested some plates for us to sample. This was the first of many pleasant and warm interactions with Simon as he provided his suggestions for surf lessons, snorkeling, and many other activities.

The room we stayed in, the Elvis suite, was impeccably adorned with antiques and memorabilia. Our back patio, with a table for al fresco dining, also provided a grill which we utilized to make fish tacos. The grounds are kept in an amazing fashion, seemingly each blade of grass was positioned in its proper location.

Many amenities such as beach chairs and a boogie board, including local shampoo and conditioner, complete the experience. My wife and I are completely enamored with the house and cannot wait to visit Simon and his beautiful Surfboard house again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occamesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We could not have asked for anything more on our honeymoon. We stayed in the Elvis suite which was amazing. It was decorated very cool and was so fun to come home to after a day of exploring. Simon was a perfect host and is constantly maintaing the gorgeous grounds. Perfect location a block from the beach and short walk to downtown. Simon's surfboard house is the perfect place to stay. Take my advice and stay at the surfboard house when you visit the North Shore of Kauai. We will be back. I could go on and on about the amenities and quality of the Surfboard house. It was without question the highlight of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing