We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

So at this point, you've read a ton of reviews looking for your honeymoon destination, and you're thinking, "Too. Many. Choices." That's what my wife and I were thinking, anyway.

And then we found the Surfboard House, and the search was over. Yours should be, too.

The details: We stayed in the Love Shack for a week in July, 2011. It was our honeymoon, and we were doing a week on Kauai and a week on Maui. We knew we wanted low-key comfort in Kauai, and Simon and the Surfboard House delivered.

The basics are all there, and are all way, way above the norm. Everything from the design of the space to the little touches like boogie boards and beach mats are, in all ways, about making the stay there perfect. We adored the outdoor shower, which features hot water! The kitchen is well stocked, and a trip to the local farmer's market and a stop by the Dolphin fish market provided all the ingredients for a great meal on the grill.

Simon is as kind and gracious as all the reviews would lead one to believe, and he does go above and beyond to make his guests comfortable and welcome. The grounds of the house are fun (though we also loved the private entrance to the Love Shack) and reflect the overall vibe that permeates the place.

Oh, and the location -- the walk to the beach takes less than 5 minutes at a leisurely pace, and there was never a day when the beach was even close to crowded. Hanalei is heaven. The town itself is as laid back as you'll ever find in a global tourist mecca, though the restaurants can get a little full at peak times.

I try to be balanced in online reviews and combine the good with the bad. Here's the only bad part: you have to leave at some point.

Anyway, if you've read this deep into the reviews and have not immediately sent Simon an e-mail and booked your stay, there's no hope for you in this world. Go. Go now. E-mail him. You will never, ever regret it.

Room Tip: The Love Shack's private entrance, outdoor shower, grill and general vibe make it worth every pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
259
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the "Love Shack" suite for four days of our honeymoon in October 2011. We feel fortunate to have discovered this small paradise within a paradise. If you can imagine a place that is thoughtfully designed, where needs are anticipated and fulfilled, and exudes a creative and funky vibe -- this is that place. Simon has an uncanny ability to treat you as an honored guest while providing you with all the amenities to feel like a local. We instantly felt at home and had all the privacy we needed. We especially enjoyed the free wi-fi, Simon's CD, record and book collection, and bath products from the Kauai Kunana Dairy. The Love Shack suite includes a private patio and grill so we bought some fresh fish from the Hanalei Dolphin Fish Market and enjoyed a romantic dinner under the stars. If you are lucky enough to visit Kauai's north shore, stay here. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaPodrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary for 8 glorious days in the Cowgirl Suite. We were impressed from the moment we parked our car, and set foot into the magical gates...... We followed a cute welcome sign with our names on it to our suite....and it was open and waiting for us, complete with thoughtful touches and AMAZING cleanliness. We felt like we were the first guests to stay there, it was so perfect! Awesome is an understatement. I had booked our stay last June, and realize why he is booked solid! We rented bikes our first day, and did not leave the village by car until the sad, sad day we had to leave. We only dined out once, at The Dolphin for sushi, and found it to be very expensive....so we BBQed every night on our patio at the Surfboard house.....DELICIOUS fresh meat and fruits....we have never eaten so well! We wrapped fresh veggies in foil every night and roasted them next to our meat. It was surreal. I fell in LOVE with the Hawaiian Reggae station 89.9 FM ....bought 3 CDs before I flew home! My husband got a beautiful tattoo at Uncle Tim's Blue Tiki Shop our last day. Our marriage has been rejuveniated! we loved our time in Hanalei, and wish we could be Simon's gardeners for the rest of our lives! He had the window washers, gardener girl, housekeeper gal, etc. doing quiet upkeep daily. It was truly a gem. BOOK YOUR TRIP NOW! We can't get back soon enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deelexicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Simon has really made this place a warm, hospitable ... work of art:) The Love Shack is so funky and filled with incredible memorabilia - it took us a few hours just to check out all the cool stuff in this suite. Outside shower is awesome, and BBQ is tops. The location is great, and Hanalei itself is a very special place. We loved our time there, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V2rotate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House for 1 week in July 2011, during a 10 day stay on the island for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We wish we would of stayed there the entire trip, but plans took us down to the south end of the island for the last 3 days, which was nice, but not like staying in Hanalei at the Surfboard House.

We enjoyed the Surfboard House immensely. We stayed in the cowgirl suite, which was very cozy and cute. The room is equipped with almost anything you need to enjoy your stay, including an ipod dock, cd's, TV, books, sitting area. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and a ceiling fan above. The room itself had an efficiency-size open kitchen with everything you need to make a nice meal, including a blender, which we used every morning to make smoothies with all of the tropical fruit we bought at the farmer's market nearby. The bathroom is spacious with a very nice shower, that had good pressure, and all of the water in the house is filtered, so no need to buy bottled water. The room has its own private lanai with a lovely zen garden. My husband and I sat out there all the time and enjoyed the quiet, meditative beauty. If fact, the whole house is surrounded with gorgeous gardens, art and very cool vintage surfboards along the fence. There was also laundry, a grill on the lanai, lots of beach equipment, like chairs, coolers, etc to use.

The house itself is located about a one minute walk to Hanalei beach. Every morning we would get up right before sunrise, make some coffee/tea and walk down to the beach to enjoy the gorgeous sunrises. We'd then come back and make a delicious breakfast, eat it on our lanai, while gazing at the beautiful flowers and plants and then head out to do our sightseeing, hiking, etc.

Simon, the owner, is a very nice guy. You can tell he puts a lot of effort into taking care of his place and making it into something quite special. He is very down to earth and we enjoyed talking to him about various subjects. He was also very helpful in helping us find what we were looking for in regards to restaurants, food, beaches, etc. He even borrowed my husband one of his long sleeve t-shirts to use.

We would definitely stay at the Hanalei Surfboard House again. Beautiful, down to earth, hip place in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadtownWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Never having been to Kauai before, we didn't know what to expect regarding accommodations, so Trip Advisor came to my rescue again and as usual, we were not disappointed. The house was private, comfortable,fun, and quiet. Simon is a wonderful host and thought of everything you could need for the beach, a picnic,a bbq, and entertainment (my husband is an 80's music fanatic and there was plenty of memorabilia, and cds around). We cooked our own Thanksgiving dinner in the private cozy garden. Everything is close and convenient to the surfhouse.

Although we had to leave rather abruptly when I reacted to a stepped on bee (poor bee had it worse than me though), and then about 2 hours later into a pile of fire ants (neither happened at the surfhouse), it was helpful that the cottage had first aid available too!

PS- the absolute BEST shower ever!

Room Tip: We wanted the Elvis Room but it wasn't available, so we got the Cowgirl room and it was quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Ditto to all the excellent reviews of the Hanalei Surfboard House. My husband and I took our 17 year old son for a graduation/Christmas present and had the best time EVER! My son was in a surfer's paradise. We had the Elvis room and my son had the honor of residing in the airstream trailer for the week. Simon truly thinks of everything to make your trip relaxing and special. His garden is beautiful. The fragrance from the flowers especially at night is unforgettable. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Can't wait to return. Mahalo Simon for everything and tell Noodles we said hello.
Mark, Carol & Adam - Virginia Beach, VA
**The Tahiti Nui restaurant/bar had great food and drinks**

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing