We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our wildest dreams!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beyond our wildest dreams!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary for 8 glorious days in the Cowgirl Suite. We were impressed from the moment we parked our car, and set foot into the magical gates...... We followed a cute welcome sign with our names on it to our suite....and it was open and waiting for us, complete with thoughtful touches and AMAZING cleanliness. We felt like we were the first guests to stay there, it was so perfect! Awesome is an understatement. I had booked our stay last June, and realize why he is booked solid! We rented bikes our first day, and did not leave the village by car until the sad, sad day we had to leave. We only dined out once, at The Dolphin for sushi, and found it to be very expensive....so we BBQed every night on our patio at the Surfboard house.....DELICIOUS fresh meat and fruits....we have never eaten so well! We wrapped fresh veggies in foil every night and roasted them next to our meat. It was surreal. I fell in LOVE with the Hawaiian Reggae station 89.9 FM ....bought 3 CDs before I flew home! My husband got a beautiful tattoo at Uncle Tim's Blue Tiki Shop our last day. Our marriage has been rejuveniated! we loved our time in Hanalei, and wish we could be Simon's gardeners for the rest of our lives! He had the window washers, gardener girl, housekeeper gal, etc. doing quiet upkeep daily. It was truly a gem. BOOK YOUR TRIP NOW! We can't get back soon enough.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deelexicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Simon has really made this place a warm, hospitable ... work of art:) The Love Shack is so funky and filled with incredible memorabilia - it took us a few hours just to check out all the cool stuff in this suite. Outside shower is awesome, and BBQ is tops. The location is great, and Hanalei itself is a very special place. We loved our time there, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V2rotate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House for 1 week in July 2011, during a 10 day stay on the island for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We wish we would of stayed there the entire trip, but plans took us down to the south end of the island for the last 3 days, which was nice, but not like staying in Hanalei at the Surfboard House.

We enjoyed the Surfboard House immensely. We stayed in the cowgirl suite, which was very cozy and cute. The room is equipped with almost anything you need to enjoy your stay, including an ipod dock, cd's, TV, books, sitting area. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and a ceiling fan above. The room itself had an efficiency-size open kitchen with everything you need to make a nice meal, including a blender, which we used every morning to make smoothies with all of the tropical fruit we bought at the farmer's market nearby. The bathroom is spacious with a very nice shower, that had good pressure, and all of the water in the house is filtered, so no need to buy bottled water. The room has its own private lanai with a lovely zen garden. My husband and I sat out there all the time and enjoyed the quiet, meditative beauty. If fact, the whole house is surrounded with gorgeous gardens, art and very cool vintage surfboards along the fence. There was also laundry, a grill on the lanai, lots of beach equipment, like chairs, coolers, etc to use.

The house itself is located about a one minute walk to Hanalei beach. Every morning we would get up right before sunrise, make some coffee/tea and walk down to the beach to enjoy the gorgeous sunrises. We'd then come back and make a delicious breakfast, eat it on our lanai, while gazing at the beautiful flowers and plants and then head out to do our sightseeing, hiking, etc.

Simon, the owner, is a very nice guy. You can tell he puts a lot of effort into taking care of his place and making it into something quite special. He is very down to earth and we enjoyed talking to him about various subjects. He was also very helpful in helping us find what we were looking for in regards to restaurants, food, beaches, etc. He even borrowed my husband one of his long sleeve t-shirts to use.

We would definitely stay at the Hanalei Surfboard House again. Beautiful, down to earth, hip place in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadtownWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Never having been to Kauai before, we didn't know what to expect regarding accommodations, so Trip Advisor came to my rescue again and as usual, we were not disappointed. The house was private, comfortable,fun, and quiet. Simon is a wonderful host and thought of everything you could need for the beach, a picnic,a bbq, and entertainment (my husband is an 80's music fanatic and there was plenty of memorabilia, and cds around). We cooked our own Thanksgiving dinner in the private cozy garden. Everything is close and convenient to the surfhouse.

Although we had to leave rather abruptly when I reacted to a stepped on bee (poor bee had it worse than me though), and then about 2 hours later into a pile of fire ants (neither happened at the surfhouse), it was helpful that the cottage had first aid available too!

PS- the absolute BEST shower ever!

Room Tip: We wanted the Elvis Room but it wasn't available, so we got the Cowgirl room and it was quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Ditto to all the excellent reviews of the Hanalei Surfboard House. My husband and I took our 17 year old son for a graduation/Christmas present and had the best time EVER! My son was in a surfer's paradise. We had the Elvis room and my son had the honor of residing in the airstream trailer for the week. Simon truly thinks of everything to make your trip relaxing and special. His garden is beautiful. The fragrance from the flowers especially at night is unforgettable. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Can't wait to return. Mahalo Simon for everything and tell Noodles we said hello.
Mark, Carol & Adam - Virginia Beach, VA
**The Tahiti Nui restaurant/bar had great food and drinks**

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The Hanalei Surfboard House is a stunning achievement in vacation lodging ambience. Through art, artifice, or sheer alchemy, Simon conjures a magical atmosphere: a unique heady blend of sensuous luxury and cozy familiarity. A tropical paradise as comfortable as fleece-lined flip-flops. Time ceases to exist; you feel as if you have been here before, or that you actually live here.

Simon is a warm, wonderful host, with the intuitive ability to be there just when you need him.

The grounds are dreamy, like a movie set. As if a fabulous production designer attended to every detail including the colorful compost receptacle and trash cans, which are not only festive and bright, they are spotlessly clean and fresh. The surfboard fence helps create an amazing sense of privacy for a building located in a neighborhood with houses on one side and behind. This is the perfect location for a honeymoon, or a romantic getaway.

The whole place is absolutely immaculate, and I mean that. Once I noticed how clean it really was, I started looking for dirt. Tops of the piles of books under the coffee table? Clean. Baseboards in the bathroom? Clean. Top of fridge? Clean.

We stayed in the Elvis Suite. The Elvis touches were subtle and the Hawaiian décor pretty (we have the same Cabana Joe lamps!). There is nothing Simon has not thought of and you could easily pay twice as much for half of this. The level of detail is astounding. For example, there is a coffee maker. But not just your average puny hotel standard coffeemaker, it is a full-size Cuisinart. There is coffee, but not just those skimpy packets a hotel gives you. It is a full bag of coffee. Better, it is a full bag of coffee beans. Even better still, it is a full bag of Kauai coffee beans, with a coffee grinder. See what I mean? There is a full size refrigerator and freezer. In the freezer are nice big plastic mugs, frosty frozen and ready to keep your beverages cold. The beverages you make in the blender, which is also there. Is there a microwave? Of course, AND a toaster, AND a toaster-oven, AND a hot plate. Like to grill? There is a gas grill on the gorgeous lanai. Hate gas grills? A charcoal grill is also on the lanai, with a washer and dryer, plus a clothes-drying rack. An electric broom, a fan, and tons of clothes hangers are in the bedroom closet. You will figure out what the electric broom is for.

Are you going to the Tuesday Farmer’s Market? Look under the sink for cloth bags. Taking a quick walk across the street to Hanalei Bay beach? On the front lanai are boogie boards, snorkels, and mesh tote bags to haul your stuff in. In the bathroom are towels to take to the beach, in fact, a big cupboard full of towels of all sizes, a shower big enough for two, a toothbrush holder, and lights directly over the bathroom sink. There are local shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Again, not the skimpy hotel sizes, these are full size bottles of luscious local concoctions. Staying in? There is a big flat screen TV on an amazing swivel, with Direct TV and a DVD player, and DVDs and books, books and more books. And an iPod dock, Bose sound system, piles of CDs. SECURE wireless internet, an access to Simon’s Music Cloud. And an actual guitar. If you play guitar, there is a guitar for you to play. Unless you golf, in which case, yes, there is a set of golf clubs, too.

The hairdryer and exquisitely comfy bed and cushy linens are a given. I think this is the most time we’ve ever spent inside a room (or on the lanai) on a tropical vacation, even though the weather was perfect. Best of all, we could not only walk to the beach, we could hear the ocean at night.

Mahalo, Simon! We will be back.


Kauai tips:
If this is your first trip to Kauai and you are seeking true Hawaiian ambience, please trust me and spend the majority of your time on the north shore. Some of the greatest beaches and hiking trails on the planet are minutes away, including Tunnels Beach and the Kalalau Trail.
And because this came up before, if you are staying on the north shore, have one more full day on Kauai, and have just taken a helicopter trip, yes, you can now skip the drive to Waimea Canyon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had wanted our own little private beach cottage 'near but far' from Hanalei town, close to surf, with beautiful artful gardens magical and enchanting as the paradise of Kauai ....and we found so much more than we could have ever imagined at the Hanalei Surfboard House, what a lucky find! You are not left wanting or needing for anything, Simon has thought of it all--from inside to outside, plus so many extra touches to make your stay not only comfortable, and that's putting it mildly, but fun, special and definitely memorable! Both the gardens and rooms are filled with surprises everywhere you turn, you feel like you're staying in an extension of his own home, sharing his personal collections on the walls, eclectic CDs & movies, books of all kinds. We found ourselves enjoying all so much and with the private patio and yard with a grill, we spent more time staying in than going out, especially as Hanalei has such wonderful fish available and a great stocked and friendly wine shop! And anywhere we went in town, everyone spoke so highly of the Surfboard House and Simon ....we even bought a print of the 'Hanalei Surfboard Hale' by a local artist at the Farmer's Market! All this, and it's literally a step away from a beautiful peaceful beach with great surf and a relaxing stroll to Hanalei pier and in a wonderful neighborhood minutes to town. Our only drawback was that Simon was out of town during our stay but his assistant Jackie was very warm and helpful and treated us just like a good neighbor! We will return, we HAVE to! Dorothy & Barry Franchi, Santa Cruz, CA

Room Tip: There's only a few to choose from and no way you could go wrong as all surround the gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing