We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even in winter beautiful setting”

Limahuli Garden and Preserve
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“even in winter beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Beautiful gardens! Winter might not be the season to go there if you want to see lot's of flowers but even without them it is very nicely organized and the little booklet that you get when you pay is informative.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quanilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    92
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Authentic”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I spent an afternoon at this lovely garden! We learned so much about the rich history of the Hawaiians! The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We loved being able to just peruse the gardens on our own, reading up on all the amazing plants! Would recommend this to anyone on the North Shore!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Indigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Might be better in summer”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited this botanical garden in February, 2014. It was poring rain the whole time, which isn't why I only gave it 3 stars. Even with the rain it was a nice, scenic walk through the garden and forest. The rain actually made the streams into fast rushing rivers, which was cool to see. The reason for only 3 stars is that there are many plants that are described as the flowers being used in lei's. The problem is none of them had any flowers on them! There were some rose bushes, no roses whatsoever. I can imaging that when everything is blooming, it's absolutely beautiful and worth 5 stars. Just be advised that if it's not in season, it's mostly green, not many colors.

Helpful?
3 Thank MNSiouxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The 'rain forest' of Kauai”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

While on the North shore of Kauai, plan on spending an hour or so walking through the beautiful gardens of this botanical natural preserve. Located about 8 miles north of Hanalei Bay, the park takes you from the shore to the mountains at a pace of difficulty you set. Wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and streams with gardens showing much of the natural plantings of the region. It's truly a natural treasure..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Legeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went here one morning, did a self guided tour, it took about 1 1/2 hours. It costs $15 per person. You stroll along trails and learn about the native and introduced plants, it is incredibly beautiful, with a nice view of the ocean at the top levels. I was in sandals and a dress for this, and it was easy enough to hike the trails. Bring a camera! There is so much to see, and you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank anotherParamedicGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limahuli Garden and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Limahuli Garden and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing