We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must See on the North Shore!”

Limahuli Garden and Preserve
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must See on the North Shore!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We did the self-guided tour since people on the guided tours are always much too slow for us ;-)
The booklet you get is very helpful and informative, the setting is absolutely gorgeous with lovely ocean views (whales can be spotted during season) and of course Napali providing the backdrop. So, while you're enjoying yourself in the relaxing environment of the carefully maintained garden, you actually learn a lot about plants on Hawai'i and their history, which was fascinating! We read up on quite a few things after returning home! Be sure to bring a raincoat or windbreaker in winter since there are always showers on the North Coast (yes, that's why everything is so green...) and sensible shoes. And do come early when you're driving: the parking lot is quite small and fills up rather early.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VidaBoheme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    92
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elias Calles, B.C.S. Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, take a stroll”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

These gardens are wonderful...take your time, take a stroll. The staff in the little shop were helpful getting us started, and we strolled for a couple of hours -- a delightful gorgeous time..a must-do for the gardeners out there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see in an incerdible setting”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have visited the other major botanical gardens on Kaua'i on previous visits and they're all gorgeous but this time I finally made it to Limahuli at the far end of the road from Hanalei. It is a really lovely setting in the greenest valley with a prominent ridge you may recognise (if you're old enough!) as the fabled Bali Hai from the movie South Pacific. A brochure I picked up noted that the ridge is actually called "makana" which means gift and was a special place to the people who lived there. The gardens were a wonderful blend of traditional Hawaiian plants such as taro - planted as they would have been historically in wet terraces and a wonderful assortment of native species. We spent most of the day there and I left feeling like I only scratched the surface of this wonderful place. We had a great time and highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Tx
Level Contributor
305 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A Walk Through History”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

You will see plants that are extinct in the wild. Some are the ONLY plants left on earth. This is not a flower garden but a working garden to save or reintroduce plants into Kauai. The Garden is very well laid out with lots of information signs. They even offer guided tours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SixPipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Garden of history of plants of Kauai”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the gardens. They are very well cared for, provide excellent information on the self-guided walk about the history of the plant growths on the island. Extremely well maintained walkway and wonderful views of island. This is well worth the time to explore the tropical growth in an informative self tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckyFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limahuli Garden and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Limahuli Garden and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing