We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views!”
Review of Okolehao Trail

Okolehao Trail
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only hiked about a mile or so in and started to run out of daylight. A beautiful hike and the first vista we got to was gorgeous. It was amazing how much we could see. Bring bug spray and dont wear sandals. We didn't have mud, but the brush was very thick. I expected a lot of biting bugs due to the brush, but they were not bad. I would do again and allot more time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling WV
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great workout with truly spectacular view”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The trailhead is easy to find and has ample parking. Trail is steep and can be very challenging after a rainy day as we found out the hard way. Coming down was much worse because it was so slippery. However, the view of Hanalei and the valley below is worth it. On my first hike I was treated to a morning rainbow.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maninacarryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice trail but it is slippery!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We only went to the pine trees -- first stop, but this is a beautiful trail and has lovely view of the Hanalei valley and taro fields from a different perspective. You also get to see many of Hawaii's cool birds on the drive to the trail because it is in a wildlife preserve. Very slippery if it is muddy so be sure to pick up one of the walking sticks at the trail head to help guide you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“slippery”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

not in the rain,no thongs,take a stick, must like walking up hills, great view, no other people, have a beer when finished.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihikeinmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Views, Great Hike”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We found this trail not long after a rain, which is certainly common on Kauai's North Shore, and we decided to give it a try. The trailhead is located on Ohiki Road just out of Hanalei, with a small parking area on the left side of the road. Ohiki Road is just off the Iron Bridge near Hanalei Town. Okolehao Trail is steep at the start, and we would suggest bug repellant, because we went through very thick jungle as we worked uphill. The trail is about 2.5 miles long and climbs to just above 1,200 feet. When you get near the top you will have views of Hanalei Bay and the Hanalei Valley, both of which make the climb worthwhile. The trail was muddy and a little slick, so a walking stick or trekking poles would be good. Your 5-mile round trip should take about 2 hours or a little more. ENJOY!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okolehao Trail also viewed

 

Been to Okolehao Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing