We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but service has slipped a bit in past 6 months”

Kalypso Island Bar and Grill
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good, but service has slipped a bit in past 6 months”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We still like Kalypso. And frankly, there aren't a ton of choices in Hanalei. We had such a fantastic experience the past vacation that it may not be fair to hold them to their own super high standard. It was still very good. We ate there probably four times this past trip.

Highly recommend the banana foster's pancakes, order and pay for the extra sauce it's totally worth it. My daughter loved the stuffed french toast. We liked the nachos. The Taro Burger was possibly the best burger we've ever tasted and it's vegetarian!!

Casual dining. Sports bar feel and open to outside are nice features.

Staff was not quite as great as other visits, but eveyone's entitled to have an off week. Would love for them to consider being open on Weekday's for breakfast, since so many there are on vacation, it seems like they might make enough to be worth staying open...currently only breakfast on weekends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeimaginepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    805
    333
    100
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Main Street on Parade”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Still a great casual restaurant and a fun place just to hang out and watch the world go buy. An open air restaurant / sports bar. The food is plentiful and service has always been good. We usually get the fish and chips which has been very good with large portions of fish. This time we noticed they have switched to panko to crust the fish and in my opinion panko is over rated as a breading. It is tasteless and leaves me with a feeling of having eaten nothing.
The burgers and salads are huge and we've tried them and they are well prepared and flavorful as well as filling.
It is one of our favorite places to come and relax and mix with the local surfer crowd and just watch main street.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our better N. Shore meals”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal at Kalypso's. Had a good kids menu for our 3 yr old. Good burger & shrimp tacos. We're not terribly adventurous eaters, so this had a good mix of standard fare & local exotic dishes. Very fair prices for the usually pricy N. Shore.

Helpful?
Thank due331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weogufka, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did not care for”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate here for our evening meal. It was a really great atmosphere and the staff was friendly enough, but the food was nothing to write home about. My brother has steak which he said was tough and no flavor. My sister in law and I has Hulu huli chicken. The sauce was really good but not enough of it. The chicken itself had no flavor. The rice was terrible! My husband had the chicken Parmesan which he said really had no flavor! It was pretty expensive! Our ticket was around 90.00 for all (4) of us to eat!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cteddebare4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had mahi mahi fish and chips here for dinner and we enjoyed it. Its a nice location for dining in North Kauai. We will return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JWMF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalypso Island Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kalypso Island Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing