We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop for lunch when visiting the North end of the island”

Kalypso Island Bar and Grill
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good place to stop for lunch when visiting the North end of the island”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stopped into Kalypso's for lunch one afternoon in Hanalei and had a good meal. There is a small deck in the front and seveal tables along the side with open windows. The atmoshphere was friendly, the menu had a nice selection and the food was tasty. Nice place to stop for lunch in Hanalei.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    815
    336
    100
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,057 reviews
531 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and really enjoyed it. The prices are good, the atmosphere is very, very good. From the moment you walk in you get that feeling of being close to the beach. The fish and chips are great and so is the Lava Flow. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuross Head Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“super”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good and friendly service including locating the baby pram in a good spot close to mummy but out of the way of other diners. All our questions were answered promptly and correctly and as we are from australia we had a few, as things have different names ie Celantro/Coriander. Food very good and plentiful all 4 of us took doggie bags back to the accommodation. Good idea to book as restaurant was very busy. I had the beef soft Tacos topped with purple cabbage and beans etc on the side (yum yum) did not even need the tacos but they were there so i ate them piggy me. Cost US$35 per head including 4 pre dinner drinks and a bottle of wine. Well worth a visit I

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lunchdearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fun town and good lunch place. The food (steamers and mussels) were wonderful and the service was Great. Would definitely recommend this stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Mai Tais!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was told I had to go here and we were definitely not disappointed! Everything was amazing. The drinks were fantastic and the fish tacos were to die for! We had Calamari for an appetizer and it was also great. My husband said he would go all the way back to Kauai just for Kalypso's fish tacos. The tables were sticky but thats what happens when you spill your Mai Tai :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mom2ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalypso Island Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kalypso Island Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing