We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky & fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanalei Gourmet

Hanalei Gourmet
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky & fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our lunch stop-over while visiting the north of Kauai, good atmosphere the service and food was good (even though it was very busy) and the best mai-tai I had on Kauai. Quirky little spot felt authentic to Hawaii.

Note alcohol not permitted at outdoor seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    387
    140
    46
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere in the heart of Hanalei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food is always great here and the staff is really nice. The restaurant is in an old wood school building. They have live music on some night. All in all, a great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iseeamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Hanalei”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The north coast of Kauai is sparse - either slim local pickings or high-end haole food. I was there with lovely family and their local kine recommendations so we stopped at the Hanalei Gourmet restaurant on a recent Kauai adventure. The restaurant is located in an old school building along with a few other shops (junk, clothes, snorkel). We were seated quickly at lunchtime (12:30 pm) on a Friday. The place is well appointed for travelers of all types - we had to order from the kids' menu but there is a good selection of chow for all ages. I had the fish-n-chips, the Lovely Wife had the local fish sandwich, and the in-laws had pasta and salad. Kids had Kid Food, which seemed to consist of a hot dog and and fried chicken. Everyone reported in happy so I'll give it a good rating. It isn't the top of the chart out of snobbery- it wasn't a knock your socks off kind of environment but the food is very worthwhile, especially for North Coast Kauai. Bonus points for the proprietor being a VA Tech grad (Go Hokies!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Just a hint of "gourmet"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant cafe that is trying to differentiate itself by offering more than the usual basic fare and some of their dishes did show some foody flair. Overall above average, including good service. Our grilled swordfish fillet atop a roasted garlic caesar salad earned a tick of appreciation. Good luck to them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“disappointing, small portions, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Even for Kauai the prices/portions here are a bad value. I had a fish sandwich with a tiny portion of swordfish. And if $14 isn't enough for you, they charged an extra $2 to get fruit instead of fries (and the server didn't mention it). Service is spotty (we saw a couple give up after not getting any attention to order) and you can't even get an alcoholic drink on the deck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing