We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in Hanalei”
Review of Hanalei Gourmet

Hanalei Gourmet
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Hanalei”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The north coast of Kauai is sparse - either slim local pickings or high-end haole food. I was there with lovely family and their local kine recommendations so we stopped at the Hanalei Gourmet restaurant on a recent Kauai adventure. The restaurant is located in an old school building along with a few other shops (junk, clothes, snorkel). We were seated quickly at lunchtime (12:30 pm) on a Friday. The place is well appointed for travelers of all types - we had to order from the kids' menu but there is a good selection of chow for all ages. I had the fish-n-chips, the Lovely Wife had the local fish sandwich, and the in-laws had pasta and salad. Kids had Kid Food, which seemed to consist of a hot dog and and fried chicken. Everyone reported in happy so I'll give it a good rating. It isn't the top of the chart out of snobbery- it wasn't a knock your socks off kind of environment but the food is very worthwhile, especially for North Coast Kauai. Bonus points for the proprietor being a VA Tech grad (Go Hokies!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    401
    149
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Just a hint of "gourmet"”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant cafe that is trying to differentiate itself by offering more than the usual basic fare and some of their dishes did show some foody flair. Overall above average, including good service. Our grilled swordfish fillet atop a roasted garlic caesar salad earned a tick of appreciation. Good luck to them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“disappointing, small portions, overpriced”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Even for Kauai the prices/portions here are a bad value. I had a fish sandwich with a tiny portion of swordfish. And if $14 isn't enough for you, they charged an extra $2 to get fruit instead of fries (and the server didn't mention it). Service is spotty (we saw a couple give up after not getting any attention to order) and you can't even get an alcoholic drink on the deck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service, OK entree”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went in for dinner the other night with my boyfriend , he got the fish taco which are always delicious and I got a pasta dish.. it started with a G, it was a cheese pasta.. I didn't care for it, it was bland and tasteless. Other than my entrees the service is and always is great. Drinks are strong and yummy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camenchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and delicious!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Been on the island for 3 weeks. This was the nest food we habe had. We had pupus and salad. Boiled shrimp, crab cakes, and Hana Lei Waldorf salad. Everything was delicious! The salad was FANTASTIC! The server had little personality but with the food that great we didn't t care!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing