We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Eat!”
Review of Hanalei Dolphin

Hanalei Dolphin
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TUCSON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great atmosphere and the food was reasonable & great quality! Little light on vegetarian but the vegetarian roast was really good! We also had the steak and fish as well. No complaints.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxandhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,193
    813
    347
    148
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow...that was amazing !!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Almost didnr go here due to some negative reviews. .but the food and service were both excellent! !I had the Ono and hubby had sushi....it was also packed at 8:30at night...definitely check it out !!

Helpful?
Thank pennie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One word: Yum!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to venture into Hanalei after our activities at Princeville, we were so glad that we did.
We arrived at 5pm but the restaurant was not open yet, we were given a buzzer and able to sit at the bar. Unfortunately they had run out of some wines and cocktails we were hoping for but eventually found something we were keen on.
Once 5.30pm arrived our buzzer went off and we were able to take a seat in the restaurant, we chose the sushi section. Once seated and meals ordered some complimentary edamame was provided. Meals were up in around 10mins. My wife ordered the scallops and I had some sashimi salmon and tuna. The sashimi and scallops were incredibly fresh. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals.
Our servers were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The restaurant can get quite loud and busy, at 6pm it was already booked out! Get there early to make sure you get a table.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eden J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Iconic Hanalei restaurant keeps getting better”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've been to this restaurant more than a dozen times, but keep coming back every time I'm in Hanalei. This trip we actually kayaked to the restaurant on the river. A lot of fun. They have an area near the outdoor dining to leave the kayaks. There's a rope to assist getting up the hill.
The food is consistently excellent. The service always friendly and attentive. Don't hesitate to try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've frequented the fish market for years, but tried the restaurant for the first time. We had extremely fresh sushi that was prepared in front of us, which was served with complimentary edamame. Nice atmosphere inside for those rainy nights.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Dolphin also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Hanalei Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing