We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish”
Review of Hanalei Dolphin

Hanalei Dolphin
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Dont always have lots of stock but what they have is fabulous restraunts grade fish. Comes at a price but quality is outstanding. Check in each morning for a suprise supper.

Helpful?
Thank rdf254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    823
    350
    149
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Riverside location with excellent fresh fish and fish market”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Going on a recommendation from the Aloha Juice Bar we made our way to the edge of town for a mid afternoon lunch. Seating was outside by the rivers edge where we could watch the kayak's and boards float by.

Breaded fish taco was excellent along with the drinks. We had no wait for a table but the staff said during the summers you could have an hour wait for dinner. The afternoon seating is used at night for customers waiting for a table. The other menu items looked good and fresh fish is so flaky and flavorful. Excellent recommendation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“'Hope restaurant is better than the market.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

‘tried to get past the surly service, but I was too full of aloha and left -in tears. I really wanted to like this place and really wanted fish; in over 40 years of going to the Islands I can't remember anyone ever being so snarky. I asked if they had Ono and the guy said, “do you see it? We only have what’s in the case.” Niiiice. He then acted very busy while guys in the back were talking and having fun. When we finally decided we really needed fish for dinner, my husband went back in and while it was a different guy, the server was equally unhelpful when he was asked what might be like Ono. Whatever it was (swordfish I think), it tasted fishy and is not at all like Ono. Prices are high, but if you get fresh fish on the Islands it is truly worth it. Drive on. I’d drive up to Kileaua to the Kilaeua Fish Market. Super nice people, great food, fresh fish and Kaua’i beef. It’s a beautiful drive and well worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graceisenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The food was good but no atmosphere and expensive”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The restaurant was crowed, noisy, and stuffy. The house wine was awful and the wine list was limited. The cost was too expensive for the quality of food and service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Great Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are not a fish fan (which includes me), but you're in Hawaii and don't want to go back home saying you didn't try the fish, this is the place for you! The grilled tuna is incredible - and remember, that's coming from someone who was raised in the midwest and dislikes fish. Friends had the steak as well - being from the midwest I'm also a steak snob - but I gotta tell you, this was great stuff! The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable. Ask for a table by the kitchen - so you can watch the chef preparing the food - entertaining by default. Good drinks. Service was hit & miss. Get there early and put your name on the wait list to get a table quickly. You can always order drinks and appetizers and sit outside at the tables while you wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Vacation_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Dolphin also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Hanalei Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing