We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Bouchons

Bouchons
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar, Seafood, Asian, Hawaiian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great sushi and drinks! Open air restaurant with very helpful staff. They make some sushi dishes we have not had before. I would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mncouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed everything.

Mahalo,
Edward Sclafani, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    295
    178
    89
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a great lunch with a view of the mountains!Fresh fish and ice cold beer!located right downtown

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikeval1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much! You can't go wrong with Fresh fish and ice cold beer.

Mahalo,
Edward Sclafani, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Crab cakes to die for!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We ate there twice during our stay. First night was just the two of us and we enjoyed it so much we brought back another couple with us. Both times we had the crab cakes as appetizers and they are the best. I've eaten crab cakes all over the US and I do have to deem these the best I have ever eaten. Entrees were delicious also. I had fish and chips the first time and Shrimp Hanalei the second time. I can't remember what the others got, but I know that as soon as the food got there no one was talking too much, just eating. Thanks for a wonderful addition to our Hawaiian vacation, if we ever make it back to Kauai we will definitely be seeing you again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
The best crab cakes you've ever eaten? What a great compliment. Thank you, Sherry! I'm happy that we were able to be an enjoyable part of your vacation, and we look forward to seeing you again should you make it back to Kauai.

Mahalo,
Edward Sclafani, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

After a long day of taking in the local beaches, we ended up at this place. We were greeted with a smile and great service/food. The food was spectacular. We had some sushi and the days special which a tuna steak with pesto crab cake. The waitor was fabulous. He offered suggestions, not too pushy and made us feel relaxed and confortable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Nick, this is wonderful to hear. There's nothing like a great meal after a long day at the beaches, and I'm glad that we could be here to make that happen for you.

Mahalo,
Edward Sclafani, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everyone enjoyed their fish dishes!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

After being seated, it took about 5 minutes before a server came to take our drink order. From then on service was good. Amongst the 4 of us, we all ordered an Ono fish dishes - fish & chips, fish tacos and fish wrap. They all were delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJMbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedward84, Owner at Bouchons, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We apologize for getting off to a slow start -- but I'm happy to hear that you all ended up enjoying everything. Thank you!

Mahalo,
Edward Sclafani, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing