We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waiter, great fish and chips!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bouchons

Bouchons
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our relaxed and spacious second story, open-air restaurant has a great ambiance and best picture taking views of Hanalei's mountains and waterfalls. Visitors and locals come time and time again for Bouchon's Pacific-American menu that's filled with a great selection of fresh homemade pupus, local caught seafood, teriyaki chicken, ribs and a premier sushi bar second to none. The famous Copper Bar serves up everything from soft drinks to Saki, including our very popular Mai-Tai. Located in the heart of Hanalei, we have the perfect gathering place to enjoy with family and friends.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
474 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Great waiter, great fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent the day at gorgeous area beaches, cleaned up and headed to dinner. We had no idea where to go, and happened upon Bouchons, at 8pm on a Friday night. Very nice atmsophere;laid back and even a bit romantic.
We were lucky enough to have Bill as our waiter. He was fun, friendly and knew the menu very well. We had two great martinis, and then shared an appetizer. Bill suggested the fish and chips, as they make their own tartar sauce. We were so glad we went with his selection, as this Was the best fish we'd had our entire trip, and the sauce was fresh and delicious.
The menu here is eclectic, and you can have a serious meal or just a bite; everything was very good.
Be sure to ask that Bill be your waiter; he really took our great experience here up a notch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    291
    175
    81
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is the only ok thing. Once you are actually seated, of course.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

After a long day of touring Kauai's north shore, we were tired and thought that bouchons looked good from the outside. The blond lady at the front desk was terrible. At first, she told us that the wait would be 20 minutes, so we thought that that would be resonable. Then after 30 minutes, the lady disapeared. We then saw her walking around pouring water in peoples' glasses, and never turned her head towards us and the seven other people waiting to be seated. It's not like people were taking long to eat, half the tables were open! Then, she went downstairs and brought toilet paper to the bathroom, and did everything she possibly could before even turing her head towards the front of the restaurant. Then as a huge party of about 10 people came in, 50 minutes after we came into the restaurant, she finally came and called us. (Almost all of the tables were cleared now). Then our waitress apologized, and gave us good service for the rest of the night. The food wasn't good at all, and we expected something better out of a seafood restaurant in hawaii. The main problems of this restaurant are the blond woman(who i think is the manager), and the bland, mushy seafood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Food, Staff and Setting was good, but nothing to write home about. Prices were good, low price options available. Sushi was good. Specialty drinks not worth the price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bahama_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sublimity, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sushi was good here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We ate late one night, very hungry, son in mood for sushi. The sushi was very good but the other fare we ordered - ribs - was not. The place had a funky smell too. We tried it the once but have no need to return. Maybe if we went earlier and enjoyed the views of the mountains maybe it would have been more enjoyable. But the place just seemed dark and stinky.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food/drinks/service and Beautiful View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After an adventurous day of snorkeing with turtles we ended our day with dinner at Bouchons. Staff at our resort recommended this place and I can see why. I ordered a couple different rolls of sushi and they were delicious! I also ordered a couple of their house specialty drinks and they were good too. Service was great and our view on the second floor looking out to the mountains was beautiful. Between eating, drinking, and enjoying our time together we ended up sitting there for quite awhile and ordered more food! We simply didn't want to leave and I can't wait to visit Bouchons again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing